Skip to content
June 7, 2011 / Zoe

Daisy Update

I wish I could write another blog post gushing about how excited I am that Daisy pooped, but I can’t. Not yet anyway. It’s been about 36 hours since the first miracle poop.  Which isn’t that long when you consider she’s just had major surgery, she didn’t eat for about 4 days and hasn’t had a lot to eat since she did start eating again. She’s still hydrated (you can see if your cat is hydrated by pinching the skin, a hydrated cat’s skin will snap right back, a severely dehydrated cat’s skin will stand on end. If that happens take your cat to the vet right now!), she’s grooming and seems very happy, except for when I make her wear the cone and when I lock her in the bathroom.

Of course, even though I can rationalise that it hasn’t been an exceptionally long time yet, I’m still worried out of my mind. We’re taking to the vet for a check-up this afternoon. Hopefully the vet seems confident and my mind can rest. I’m also on edge because Matt is leaving for 6 days on Thursday morning. If we’re still not sure if she’s going to make it by then I might just implode, the thought of losing Daisy without Matt standing by my side makes me feel sick. But hopefully it won’t come to that.

Daisy isn’t very photogenic at the best of times, she’s like me in that respect, we’d both rather hide under the couch than get in front of the camera. But here’s a few photos I took yesterday. I gave her some cone free time while I watched her closely, and as soon as she went near the incision I put it right back on.

The patch on her side is a morphine patch, it lasts for over a week, which I think is kind of amazing!

Thank you again for all the emotional support, the lovely emails keep rolling in, as do the donations and giveaway offers. I am so incredibly humbled.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Helena / Jun 10 2011 7:17 pm

    hello there!
    I just came here to say that the SAME STORY happened with me and my cat Nina. She was only 6 months old when, without me noticing, she ate 1 foot long piece of wool. The reaction was more or less the same, she was throwing up a lot, I called the vet and they didn’t have time for her. I was in helsinki that time, and there they are really strict with timetables. Well, next day, Nina was sick again, vomited like 7 times, I was so scared!
    The was operated, they had to cut her intestine in 5 parts to take all the whool.
    Wow, I was so sad, and guilty and feeling horrible.
    After she came home, she was still super sad because the op, not eating, not drinking. But this story has a good ending. After a few days, Nina was perfect again, playing, eating, cuddling. She is a star!
    So, I know tat the vet bill is big and heavy on the pocket, it’s worth it, they deserve it.
    All my best for daisy, I hope you can raise the money you need and that everything will be fine in a week or so.

  2. Lemur Lady / Jun 7 2011 10:34 pm

    Following Daisy’s progress from over here in London after seeing a Facebook post by Mog’s Togs from Folksy. Keeping everything crossed for your little furbaby. And going home tonight to sort out my own thread storage system, I’d never even thought about the dangers 😦

    http://www.folksy.com/shops/lemurlady

  3. Annika / Jun 7 2011 3:56 pm

    She is a cutie! Cats are the best! Hope the vet visit goes well!

  4. Lily / Jun 7 2011 9:30 am

    She’s such a sweetie!! Her eyes are bright and her coat looks good despite all she’s been through. It’s been my experience that those are good things. I’m continuing to pray for her. Praying she poops soon!!

Leave a Reply

