Skip to content
May 31, 2011 / Zoe

To market, to market?

On Sunday I nearly went to a market. Nearly going to a market doesn’t sound very interesting, but I should preface this post by reminding you that I’m agoraphobic. Very agoraphobic. Agoraphobia isn’t, as a lot of people think, simply the fear of being outside, it’s actually defined as a fear of having a panic attack. Which means it comes in many and varied forms. I actually love being outside, I love the country, I love bushwalking and exploring. I do not love crowds, or anywhere where there is people moving around me, like at a party or a shopping centre. (My hands are actually shaking as I write this.) The word agoraphobia comes from the Greek language, and translates to ‘fear of the marketplace.’ Agora = marketplace, phobia = fear.

So the fact that I nearly went to a market is pretty great, I didn’t just ignore the existence of the market, as I would generally do, I really tried to go. I saw the ad in the local paper, it said it was a Handmade Boutique Market, which sounded perfect. But when we arrived it turned out that it was a Handmade Boutique Market for boys and girls. Not girls like me, girls like 3 year olds. I still considered going, but there was no parking, and there was pregnant women everywhere, and as I mentioned in my last post, I’m very clucky and being around pregnant women with cute round bellies and other women with babies neatly wrapped in slings is akin to putting a starving man in a room full of bacon and saying, ‘no! You can’t have it!’ Very cruel. So we left.

I was pretty disappointed that I’d gone to the effort of getting there, but in hindsight it wasn’t a complete failure. Next time I’ll do more research and make sure the market is aimed at my demographic, and next time I will get through the door, even if it’s only for 5 minutes! The trip wasn’t a complete bust though, we pulled into a garage sale on the way home and picked up this lovely.

We have been living with a little tiny coffee plunger for so long, which meant if we both wanted a coffee we either had to add hot water after it was pressed, or wash it out and let it brew twice. This shiny little baby will save a lot of hassle in the morning, and I think it’s just so pretty!

And now every morning can be this beautiful.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Katie / Jun 3 2011 10:54 pm

    That’s seriously brave Miss Zoe! Proud of you ❤

    (And that's one snazzy coffee pot!)

  2. Flamingo Dancer / Jun 1 2011 11:32 am

    I think that was a great achievement. You did go out of the house, and you even went to a garage sale. Sounds positive to me!

  3. fatcatfromvox / Jun 1 2011 2:39 am

    love the second picture! Yay for having the courage to try-in the end, that will be all it takes 🙂

  4. Katie / May 31 2011 11:50 am

    I agree with Lily! Baby steps at a time, I’m sure when it finally happens you’re going to be so excited you’ll hardly be panicking at all. My fingers are crossed for you, sweetie!

  5. quietlystrange / May 31 2011 11:41 am

    Oh well done hon – Agoraphobia is horrible isn’t it. I try to trick it – (ipod, acting like I’m on my own, ignoring everyone – I get some looks like “do we call the police” and it doesn’t always work (about 4 times out of 10 to get me there) but when I really, really have to I can just about make it – and I only say that bit, so you know I at least sort of (as everyone is different) get it and can say well done and you know I mean it.)
    How massively disappointing though – you go through all of the pre market stuff and don’t get to go 😦 not fair.
    Hooray for Coffee Pot though – tis gorgeous. And morning happy making.
    Well, well done.
    Hugs

    • quietlystrange / May 31 2011 11:43 am

      oh – and thats me ^ or rather V there. April- lifeslightlyused. Other blog – slightly traumatic one – maybe best not to go there on any kind of bad day (damn inability to log out and in on this computer – grrrr)

  6. Lily / May 31 2011 10:07 am

    I am so proud of you for making it to market!! Girl you did so much more than “nearly” go, you actually went!! So you didn’t go in, you still went and that is a huge and fabulous step for you! Not only that but you went to a garage sale. I am so proud of you! Keep pushing those against those fears, you can do it!!

Leave a Reply

