Skip to content
May 29, 2011 / Zoe

Baby Name Irrationalities.

You may or may not have noticed, but I’m a little bit crazy. Maybe more than a little, but hopefully just the right amount. I worry a lot. I worry about completely useless things that have no bearing on anything, mostly to distract myself from things that do have a bearing on something, but which I cannot control.

One thing I worry about is people stealing my baby names. Actually, let me rephrase that, I worry about people naming their babies what I want to name mine, and then when I do name my babies in the future it will seem like I copied them, but I didn’t. This particularly applies to famous people, people I went to school with, and family members. I should also point out that I’m ridiculously clucky, (I don’t think that the word ‘clucky’ is a universal term, alternate words could be ‘broody’ or ‘givemeababynow syndrome.’) but while I’m emotionally ready to procreate, I’m not physically, mentally or financially ready.

So these are the names that I daydream about. If you are currently gestating a human, or considering doing so, and one of these names takes your fancy, please use it. Listing them is for my own personal neurosis, so if Britney or Madonna has a baby tomorrow and calls him Sage, I can say that I thought of it first.

Sage, for a boy or girl. Ruby. I particularly daydream about twin girls named Sage and Ruby. Saffron. Luna. Apollo. Hazel. Olive. Mabel. Violet. Clementine. Daphne.

Yes, it seems that I want about a dozen children. But I totally reserve the right to change my mind about that later…

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. brooke / Jun 4 2011 12:33 am

    oh, i’m right there with you!

    someone i went to college with, that now works with my husband just named her baby the only boy name that i have ever loved: beau. AND another girl i went to high school with just named her little girl ivy louise, which is EXACTLY what i want to name a someday little girl of my own. ivy because i love it and louise because it was my grandma’s name.

    i guess i will just have to look like a copy cat. 🙂

    also, i love the names hazel and ruby from your list and mabel is the name of my sweet little pup, whom i adore!

    have you checked out http://swistlebabynames.blogspot.com/? i am addicted to this site and love that i can give my input on other people’s children’s names! 🙂

  2. Ironyonhighheels / Jun 3 2011 8:17 pm

    LOL I think that’s something you share with many women. I am not in a baby-craze at all. If I could put it of another 10 years I probably would. But I too sometimes dislike the idea that I have come up with a name that would suit wonderfully and someone I know already has named their child the same name. Just despite I’ll probably come up with a different one if that should be the case.

  3. Lucie / Jun 2 2011 11:47 am

    Hmm, I think you’re pretty safe from me, sister. But with all those girls names, Murphy’s law states that you will only have boys. Ruby is one of the most popular girls names at the moment, so don’t be surprised if someone takes that one. Just for your reference, my baby names are Clare, Tara and Howl, at the moment.

  4. Flamingo Dancer / Jun 1 2011 11:35 am

    Well there are other things to consider regarding names – does the Dad like the same name? Does it go with the surname? Don’t use it if there are going to 34 others with the same name in the class, I lived through that and it was painful.Names don’t really matter, not as personalities do!

  5. Katie / May 29 2011 4:12 pm

    OH MY GOODNESS.

    Number 1 – I worry about ridiculous, insignificant things too.
    Number 2 – I have this exact fear.
    Number 3 – Our baby names lists are crazy similar! Sage, Hazel, Olive, Violet and Clementine are all on my list too!
    Number 4 – It’s not irrational! Violet was number one on our list but some friends of ours recently named their baby Violet so no we just can’t. And it’s disappointing!

    xox

Leave a Reply

