Skip to content
May 25, 2011 / Zoe

Winter Lovin’

It seems like winter is finally setting in. And I have to say, I am so very pleased. We had a long hot summer, which seemed like it would never end. But it’s finally the season of snuggling. Cat snuggling, people snuggling, blanket snuggling, I’ll snuggle anything that’ll stay still long enough for me to get my arms around it.

In summer we have freezing cold showers and rush to bed and try to get to sleep before we start sweating again, only to wake a few hours later to repeat the routine. In winter we have steaming hot showers that fog up the house, and rush to bed to snuggle up in doonas and sleep the whole night through. I always feel more rested in winter.

Matt and I are very sleep compatible. I think that’s very important in a relationship. Matt had a friend who said that even if they were sleeping on a football field, his girlfriend would still be right up next to him. That’s fine if you also want that closeness, but if you don’t like it, it must be damn annoying! We don’t like closeness while we sleep. Sure, we snuggle, but sleeping time is sleeping time, and we both stick to our sides of the bed, with a couple of cats in between. We couldn’t cope if we had to share a blanket, we both have our own so we can both wrap up in blanket cocoons, and we both don’t like having a top sheet. I don’t see the point in a sheet and a doona. I just get all tangled up!

The kittens are starting to feel snuggly too. There’s nothing better than having a kitten curled on your stomach while you sleep! Maisie’s favourite place to sleep during the day is under my skirt while I sit on my chair. And Pippi’s favourite place to sleep in on top of my skirt (and therefore on top of Maisie) while I sit in my chair. The cuteness kills me.

My sweet Pippi now has a home to go to. She’s the kitten I’ve gotten myself most attached to this time around. She’s snuggly, she’s sweet and her voice is adorable. But she’s not my baby, she’s someone else’s baby and that someone else is coming to pick her up in the next day or two. Luckily for Pippi, she’s being adopted with Dorothy! A double adoption is the greatest feeling. The sisters will be together forever. Dorothy has had so much interest, I’ve been fostering for over a year now, and Dorothy has had the most calls of any kitten I’ve had. Their new mother came with the intention of adopting Dorothy and decided she also wanted Pippi. She won her over with her personality. Poor little Oliver has had no interest. It might take a while for him to find his home, when people have visited he’s hissed at them, so he doesn’t make a very good first impression! But he really is the sweetest thing, and once he trusts you he just loves to snuggle. I’m glad he’s formed a bond with Zelda and Daisy, otherwise losing both his sisters at once would be quite hard on the poor little man.

Would you look at that ear fluff? So sweet!

Whether it be from hot to cool, or cold to warm, are you feeling relieved at the changing of the seasons?

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. ejorpin / May 30 2011 3:51 pm

    I love snuggling weather too! And as much as I’m looking forward to the hot Korean summer, reading this post makes me long for big fluffy doonas, slippers and blankets. Enjoy!

  2. jenn / May 27 2011 12:53 am

    it’s so great to hear that pippi gets to go with her sister!

    poor little oliver. what a pretty boy! i’m sure he’ll find his people soon enough.

  3. Linnie B / May 26 2011 12:02 pm

    Oh my, so adorable!!

    Despite my dislike for the summer, I am enjoying the changeover to summer – because all we’ve had is rain! With our move, we technically move into tornado ally (technically being a loose term) and this excites me!

    I REALLY hope to catch a picture of some lightning!!

  4. Stephanie / May 26 2011 11:39 am

    This is so awesome to read because it’s just getting into summer weather here in the states, and I had to read the first paragraph of your post a couple of times. I love that!! Happy cuddles!! xo

  5. caren / May 25 2011 10:22 pm

    That shot of little Pippa pretty much on top of Maisie (who is half under your skirt!) is the sweetest thing! I’d have a hard time letting go of a face like Pippa’s … you are such a wonderful kitty foster-mom!
    Aw, and sweet Oliver – I wish people would realize that his hissing is just out of fear and doesn’t have anything to do with his disposition. My cat Strongpaw hisses at people, but I think it’s a short-circuit in her brain – she doesn’t mean to hiss, but it’s the only response she knows, out of fear.
    I have no idea what a doona is, but it sure does sound snuggly! (is it a comforter?)

  6. MaryAnn / May 25 2011 10:01 pm

    We are enjoying some of the warmer weather of summer but it’s trying to be a rocky transition from spring. We’ve had lots of severe weather with thunderstorms, hail, & tornadoes. No tornadoes here locally but there have been damaging winds. I can’t help myself though, I love the summertime. I’ve busted out the flipflops & the short sleeves with a very happy smile!

  7. Ieva / May 25 2011 9:34 pm

    Winter is great because Tina will occasionally come and sit on my lap in the mornings. Then I usually find it very hard to move because I don’t want to chase her off. Tonight I’ve had Teddy sitting on the arm of the couch and purring in my ear while I watch TV.

  8. VeryZoe / May 25 2011 8:38 pm

    I must say, I love summer a lot more than winter, but sometimes it’s nice to curl up in a doona with a hot chocolate and a really good book 🙂

    PS. Your cats and kittens are so photogenic! Very cute 🙂

Leave a Reply

