Skip to content
May 5, 2011 / Zoe

Sorting fabrics.

My absolute favourite part of the sewing process is choosing which fabric I want to use. I spend a ridiculous amount of time doing it, swapping things around and trying to decide what looks best. This is what I spent a good hour doing today.

I have three elements to work with when I’m making zippered pouches, the outside, the lining and the zip. I like bringing home a random handful of zips and matching them with fabric I already have.

This is a fabric I’ve had for ages, my Mum sent it to me and I’m so in love with it! The little paper doll outfits are so adorable!

Now on to the ironing, cutting, ironing, pinning, sewing and ironing!

{See something you like? They’ll appear as pouches in my shop soon!}

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Linnie B / May 14 2011 10:15 am

    I am SO jealous right now!

  2. PuNk rAwK pUrL / May 6 2011 11:51 pm

    choosing colors/ textures/ shapes and then arranging them a hundred different ways is my favorite thing about any craft/ art that i do. it’s been awhile since I have done it w/ fabrics, but i do it with paper and thread everyday.
    (adore the random colored zips!)

  3. Manda / May 6 2011 9:33 am

    I think picking out the fabric is my favorite part too. My husband just doesn’t understand why it takes me a couple of hours to get out of the fabric store. LOL! Happy Sewing!

  4. fatcatfromvox / May 5 2011 11:21 pm

    how lovely!

Leave a Reply

