Skip to content
April 28, 2011 / Zoe

Frankenstein Skirt

I have a bad habit of buying clothes from op shops that don’t fit me. I’ll see a gorgeous print across the store and leap for it, only to find it’s too small for me. I, of course, buy them, because any day now I’m going to get off my butt and lose the kilos to fit those skirts. But in the meantime… Well, I’d really like to wear some of them. I do think it’s a good idea to have some ‘inspiration clothes,’ which, if you need to lose weight, you can aim to fit into, but it’s also nice to have clothes that fit now.

So today I took one of the small pretty skirts and chopped off the too small top half, and took one of my dowdy brown skirts and cut the comfy elastic off the top, and sewed them together. I did start off trying to put a zip into the orange skirt, but I cut some bits wrong and ruined it. But I didn’t lose my temper! I just thought of another way to make it work. Then the brown bit was too big, so I had to take that in, and then match it up with the orange half. I’m pretty pleased with myself, I really want to start making my own clothes, so altering clothes I already have seems like a good place to start.

Do you sew or alter your own clothes?

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Linnie B / May 14 2011 10:23 am

    I wish I could sew my own clothes – but I cannot. Le sigh.

  2. Cara / May 7 2011 4:27 am

    Oooh! Nice work! I’m going to be altering the neckline of a dress I thrifted (op-shopped?) last week. I wore it twice while in Vancouver and I love it. It needs a slit in the back, though, and I haven’t decided whether I’ll shorten it or not. I definitely want to get into altering clothes, and I have a few skirts ready to sew up from scratch as soon as this week of paper editing is over.

    ❤ you, and miss you oodles. Guess I'll have to be on Twitter more often. Hope you're doing well, Zoe, dear.

  3. ejorpin / May 3 2011 10:16 am

    Well that’s all a little bit clever, isn’t it?! I have been thinking a lot about tackling some of my own alterations, because I am a bit like you and can’t resist a pretty print or funky fabric even if it doesn’t fit. And I had my dry cleaner do some basic alterations recently and wasn’t happy with it and though ‘I could do better than that!’. So I have three dresses in a pile next to my neglected sewing machine, patiently waiting, waiting, waiting…

  4. PuNk rAwK pUrL / Apr 30 2011 12:31 pm

    well done you super smart lady you!!
    As you already read over on my blog this week… I am working my way back to sewing clothes. Can’t wait to share whatever fun stuff I whip up.

  5. VeryZoe / Apr 30 2011 10:15 am

    I love it! What a beautiful combination Zoe!!

    And you can’t even tell it crazy inside 😉 Shhhh!

  6. matt / Apr 28 2011 11:14 pm

    frankenskirt

  7. MaryAnn / Apr 28 2011 8:52 pm

    Great job, Zoe! I should sew/alter my own clothes. I was a Home Economics major in college & took a lot of sewing classes. I just am not that good at it unless I sew a lot & where do I find the time for that? So I have a mending/alterations pile that needs to be worked on someday…keeping posting stuff like this & maybe I’ll get inspired 🙂

  8. Katie / Apr 28 2011 7:56 pm

    Very clever Miss Zoe! I do a little bit of altering but I’m not particularly good at it yet… Oh and I love the kitty silhouette in the last pic! 😉

  9. caren / Apr 28 2011 7:56 pm

    I want to alter/sew my own clothes, but it never goes the way I envision. You make alterations seem quite possible, though, with your frankenstein skirt (I love it!)! I have a vintage skirt I thrifted that I’d like to do something similar with – take off the unhappy top part & attach a comfy band. Thank you for the inspiration! I can only hope that I won’t fall into my usual sewing skit of swearing at the machine (Gracie hates it when I swear!) … I have to get past my frustration if I want to start making my own dresses, skirts & blouses! 🙂

Leave a Reply

