Skip to content
April 20, 2011 / Zoe

Family Portrait – Take 2.

** WARNING: If you’re a weird person and you don’t like cats, you might find this boring. Go and look at something else**

After my first dismal attempt at a feline family portrait, I decided to try again.

Maisie and Daisy were sleeping in the sun on my desk. Perfect.

And they weren’t going anywhere, because they were both sleepy, as evidenced by this:

And this:

I had 66% of my cats in a perfect position, the background isn’t great, but with cats you work with what you’ve got. I just had to grab the little black monster.

So then I had this:

Just had to get Maisie to look at the camera. So naturally, Maisie did THIS:

She turned around and licked her butt! Daisy looks peeved, so right now she’s my favourite. I started making stupid noises to convince them to look at me. Bird calls, mouse sounds, random noises… In hindsight, maybe Zelda did what was to be expected…

She turned around too. And Daisy still looks peeved, I know she’s saying to the other girls, ‘just let the lady take her photo, and then we can sleep!’

But I could deal with this, just need a change of position.

Maisie has moved onto grooming her leg, and the other two have decided that this is the perfect time for a group grooming session. Daisy is chewing on her toenails, she does it all the time because she has an abnormal amount of toe fluff, and the sound of the chewing completely grosses me out.

At this point Maisie has not looked at the camera once. Not a single glance up to see what all the fuss is about. More important things are happening, like the cleanliness of her foot. I’m pleading with her, please, just one photo!

Sigh. At least I got Maisie to listen to me…

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. PuNk rAwK pUrL / Apr 27 2011 1:57 am

    that was hilarious Zoe!! I have a new appreciation for how lucky i am to only have to catch one cat in a photogenic state! & man oh man… you have a GORGEOUS group of ladies there! Give them all smooches from their American BF, Rosco.

    p.s. Rosco does the very same toenail slurp chomp thing. but it cracks me up.

  2. fatcatfromvox / Apr 26 2011 3:15 am

    Bwahaha, I loved this -and I so know the feeling!

  3. ironyonhighheels / Apr 21 2011 3:08 am

    LMAO cats must be the hardest animals to photograph. I always felt like they did ignore the camera on purpose – knowing exactly what you want from them, but with this tell you “I give a “#¤”¤%!”
    Though – nevertheless they have become really nice pictures!

  4. Lily / Apr 21 2011 1:51 am

    Your babies are so cute, and such typical kitties! I love it!

  5. Ieva / Apr 20 2011 11:19 pm

    Nice to see Maisie looking better. Well my lot never listen to me either. Every Christmas I try to put ribbons on for Christmas photos – ha ha… I’ve managed one decent photo of Tiggy and that’s all.Then last year I put reindeer antlers on him and he looked very unimpressed…after she saw that, Tina wouldn’t even let me get within 2 feet of her with antlers in my hand 🙂

Leave a Reply

