Skip to content
April 18, 2011 / Zoe

A New Space.

The boy and I have been feeling a little restless of late. In fact, last week we went to an open home and thought about applying to move there. The house was nice, cheaper than here and much bigger, but out of the way and apparently moving house costs money. There was also about seven thousand other people there, and they probably have better jobs and references than we do. So, that idea out, we still felt like we needed a change. Our house doesn’t have a lot of rooms. The living area, kitchen, hallway and laundry are all one space. So the only major change we could really manage was to switch the bedroom and the craft/study/music room. So we did. This involved moving every single piece of furniture we own, because we also rearranged the lounge room. (Matt did most of the work, but I pushed a piano, so I feel like I did my part.) Most of the house is still in absolute shambles. There’s stuff everywhere, and we’re both now at the point where we just look at it and shrug. But I did complete my sewing space. I like it, it’s cosy and has nice light, it’s smaller than my old space, but I don’t have to share it with anyone. Matt now has a study space in the living room, and since he’ll be studying hard this year, a music space isn’t needed.

So, here it is. My space. I have a table to cut out fabric and work out patterns, a bookshelf with all my fabric, my folding out sewing table, a sewing machine, an iron and a little black cat. What more could a lady want? (And ironing board is the correct answer, that wasn’t a rhetorical question. My ironing board didn’t survive the move.)

Zelda likes to look out the window…
Sadly, this is her view…

Yep, that’s a 6 foot asbestos fence and a 7 foot pile of tyres. Our neighbour is a motorcycle repair shop, and I hate it. One day I’ll give Zelda the beautiful view she deserves!

I hope you liked this peek inside my creative space! Well one of my creative spaces, my cross stitching space is a desk in the lounge room, and is in dire need to reorganising.

Now we just have to tackle the rest of the house, before these piles of miscellaneous crap completely take over!

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Brooke / Apr 27 2011 4:53 am

    You give me hope! …my craft space is so disorganized just now. Doesn’t it feel great to rearrange things? That is one of my favorite things to do.

  2. Cara / Apr 21 2011 9:38 am

    This is lovely! Great work! I hope you enjoy the new space 🙂

  3. Katie / Apr 20 2011 6:37 pm

    Your sewing space looks lovely! And Zelda looks rather a lot like our black kitty, Sebastian 🙂 I know exactly what you mean about feeling restless. It’s been like that at our place lately too…

  4. Lauren / Apr 20 2011 6:37 am

    I love your new space! And your sewing machine is so cute.

  5. Manda / Apr 19 2011 9:51 am

    Love your sewing space! Mine is the kitchen table and I have to clean it up for meals and such all the time. 😦 I had a space – but then my son took it over will all of his legos (and then I would be in the basement away from everything).

  6. PuNk rAwK pUrL / Apr 19 2011 7:57 am

    yay for rearranging & making an old room seem brand new! & as long as birds land on those tires… I am quite sure that Zelda loves her view! ;^)

  7. ironyonhighheels / Apr 19 2011 2:27 am

    Make a move. Then you are so fed up with all the stuff you have to pack up that you’ll lose some of it voluntarily :-p

  8. justthreadtwiddling / Apr 18 2011 11:21 pm

    Just wait until you have been in one house for more than 20 years. The crap breeds and takes over! 😉

Leave a Reply

