Skip to content
April 12, 2011 / Zoe

The Birthday Boy.

The best thing about Matt coming home a week early was that he was here for his birthday. Yesterday was his actual birthday, but I didn’t get his cake finished until today. I had a migraine and he was away most of the day, so it just didn’t happen. But better late than never, eh?

Over the last few years we’ve started a tradition of making each other themed cakes. It’s a lot of fun, and we both agree that it’s the thought that counts, so when the dinosaurs I tried to make a couple of years ago turned into weird orange blobs, we were both ok with it. But I’m pretty happy with this guy, he looks cool and was super delicious.

I could write a mushy post about how much I love my boy, but I did that a few weeks ago, for our anniversary. So all I’ll say, on the anniversary of the day after he was born, is I’m so grateful to have him in my life. He’s awesome and nice to me and I wish I could buy him the world, but all I can do is make him cakes shaped like owls, and he’s ok with that.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Edith / Apr 20 2011 1:09 pm

    This inspired me to make my first ever vegan brownies! I dont think I could ever make something as artistic as this, so chocolatey goo it is for now.
    I was skeptical Ill be honest, but it was delicious! Maybe couldve done with a few more minutes in the oven, but it still didnt last the night! If you dont mind sharing your recipe for this cake, I might even tackle this one day!

  2. Lauren / Apr 20 2011 7:34 am

    this is really cool!

  3. VeryZoe / Apr 18 2011 11:51 am

    That is the cutest (and possibly the only) owl cake I’ve ever seen 🙂 Great job Zoe!

  4. april / Apr 13 2011 1:20 pm

    Oh I am so pinching this – is that Okay? I want to turn it into a penguin for my boy….Such a Brilliant cake 🙂
    Also – what kind of icing? Mine never ever works….

  5. MaryAnn / Apr 13 2011 1:27 am

    Fabulous cake! I love owls 🙂
    Happy birthday to your boy. How sweet it is that he was able to be with you for his birthday. I’m glad you could celebrate together – it doesn’t matter if it was a day late because we should all have a birth ‘week’, don’t you think? Stretch that celebrating goodness out over a week, that’s what you should do!

  6. Dannielle / Apr 12 2011 10:31 pm

    that cake looks amazing!!! happy birthday matt!

Trackbacks

  1. Birthday Cake – Lady Birds. « A Giraffe in a Scarf

Leave a Reply

