Skip to content
April 12, 2011 / Zoe

Cuteness!

This is the cuteness living in the bathroom, which I alluded to yesterday.

I die! The cuteness factor is extreme in this trio.

But to explain why they are living in the bathroom, I have to go back a few weeks. Remember Morgan? No? This is Morgan.

Morgan was my long term foster, she was here about 8 months, and sometimes I thought she’d never leave. In the midst of Maisie going through the worst of her illness, Morgan found her angel. It was incredible timing, I was so stressed about Maisie, so for Morgan to be adopted, leaving me with one less thing to worry about, was perfect. I did worry she’d bounce back, she takes a long time to warm up to people, but once she trusts you she’s incredibly affectionate. Her new Mumma has managed to gain her trust, and I know they’ll be lifelong companions.

After Morgan was adopted we decided to take a break from fostering, we have a lot on money troubles and fostering isn’t cheap, we don’t have a lot of room, and fosters need space, I don’t have a lot of spare energy, and fosters need attention. So we said, ‘Universe, we just need a break, maybe for a few years, when we have money, space and energy we will foster all the cats in the world.’

The Universe said, ‘pffft! You guys! You love kittens!’ So when a friend of Matt had some kittens turn up in his backyard, we couldn’t say no. There’s not a lot of room with other carers at the rescue group we foster for, so they had to stay here as fosters or go to the pound, where they probably wouldn’t last long.

So here they are.

We have, from left to right, Oliver, Dorothy and Pippi. An orphan theme, can you work them all out?

 

They’re mostly in good health. They had a lot of fleas, and they have little pot bellies which could indicate worms, but they’re not skinny and are alert and happy. They like us ok, Dorothy was the first to appear at Matt’s friend’s house, a week ago, so she’s the most confident. Pippi is ok, but a little frightened. And Oliver is such a hisser! He does not like us at all, he just wants us to go away so he can snuggle with his sisters. I should point out that I don’t have any experience with sexing kittens, so if Oliver is a girl she will become Olivia. I’m pretty sure he’s a boy though, the other two are almost certainly girls. Genetically, calicos and tortoiseshells have to be girls, unless they have 3 sex chromosomes, which would make them infertile, and that’s not very common. So practically any cat that looks like Dorothy or Pippi is a girl. I could go on and on about the genetics of calico cats, but I’ll save you from that. So, Oliver’s bits look different to the girl’s bits, so I have concluded that he is a boy. I can tell you that Oliver enjoyed me checking him out about as much as I did doing it. I also don’t have a lot of experience with aging kittens, but my guess is 8 weeks.

I can’t wait for them to come out of their shells a bit more, so they can be released into the rest of the house. And I can’t wait to share more photos with you! They are soooo cute!

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lauren / Apr 20 2011 7:30 am

    AWWW you didnt disappoint with the cuteness!!

  2. Amiee / Apr 19 2011 1:53 pm

    I’m so glad Morgan found a kindred spirit, I did also think she might be staying with you!

    New kitties are gorgeous, there are so many around at the moment 😦 Luna and Norbit are still hanging round my place too (not that they mind).

  3. eef / Apr 14 2011 5:58 am

    awwww i want them! mail them to me? haha

  4. PuNk rAwK pUrL / Apr 13 2011 1:17 pm

    acccccck!!! I need to snuggle in a big pile of kitten!
    Rosco got jealous whilst I was reading this post! haha

  5. Katie / Apr 13 2011 2:12 am

    Holy cow! If I lived in the same country as you I’d bring one home with me right away. In a heartbeat. You’re doing a very kind thing, Zoe!

  6. Lily / Apr 12 2011 11:38 am

    How utterly precious! I hope you can get rid of the fleas and deworm them. If they have fleas they more than likely have worms but you probably already know that.

    They are so cute I have no doubt that they will find forever homes. As much as possible love on your little hisser, he has probably been mistreated by people and that’s why he would rather be with his sisters. Our Siamese was a kitty’s cat as opposed to a peoples cat. Not from mistreatment but from lack of socialization. We didn’t get her till she was at least 6 months old, but she didn’t have her markings yet so she was under a year. Now that her boy (cat) is in kitty heaven and our puppy, who thinks she’s a cat, won’t snuggle with her and our other cat isn’t a cat’s cat, she likes people better, Kissa (the Siamese) has had to become a people kitty. (How’s that for a run on confusing sentence?)

    So if you can get Oliver to ask you for “more please” and let you love on him he will be adopted real soon! I hope Dorothy doesn’t get caught up in any cyclones and that Pippy finds her stockings!

    • Zoe / Apr 12 2011 2:56 pm

      I’ve been giving Oliver all the loving he’ll allow, I know I’ll be able to bring him around! I’d hate to know what they’ve been through, the poor little dears. Your last sentence made me lol! You got them all right. 🙂

  7. caren / Apr 12 2011 10:15 am

    Oh, Zoe, you and Matt are such kind-hearted folk! How I wish I lived nearby so I could come visit you & the little baby kittens (and probably take one or two or three home with me).
    I always want to bring home the kitties in need, but always have a reason not to … then hearing your story, knowing how stressed (emotionally & financially) you guys are, yet still you bring these little ones in to care for – well, you make me want to do more.
    Bless you!

  8. Courtney / Apr 12 2011 7:16 am

    I want a pile of kittens!

    Ok, realistically I do not want this, but seeing yours…I don’t know. Too cute. I would love to foster some day, but I have a feeling my cat wouldn’t be very pleased with me if I took in any new additions.

    • Zoe / Apr 12 2011 2:55 pm

      I’m very lucky that I have 3 cats who all tolerate new arrivals, especially when they’re so small because they’re no threat to their dominance. But all of ours are used to it, it would be harder for an older cat to adjust to kittens arriving!

  9. thalia / Apr 12 2011 6:46 am

    WANT. They look so cuddly and lovely! Give them a hug for me? Okay, give them several!!

Trackbacks

  1. Feline Friday – My Story « A Giraffe in a Scarf

Leave a Reply

