Skip to content
April 7, 2011 / Zoe

I’m not stressing.

Actually, I am. A little. Maybe a lot.

I lie awake at night and make lists of all the things I need to stress about. Maisie’s blood glucose still not stabilising, $2000 in vet bills and more to come, having to give her two needles a day, a guinea pig I was baby-sitting passing away yesterday, Matt being away, having to feed myself and all my food not being as tasty as the food Matt makes me, litter trays being full, the dishes pile ever increasing, the wheelie bin being outside the gate, making the simple act of putting out the rubbish a trip of anxiety, Daisy peeing on the floor, not selling anything on Etsy, new crafts not getting done, including a gift for my Grandad’s 80th birthday in 10 days, missing my Mum, missing my siblings, missing the ease of conversation when I’m with my family, and I could go on and on.

But I have to stop. Or I’ll spiral into depression and next thing I know I’ll be hiding in bed for days on end.

So here’s some thoughts that don’t stress me out.

Maisie is alive. She’s not well, but she’s slowly getting there. I have to give her two needles a day to keep her alive, and that makes the needle giving that much easier.

It’s cold today. It finally feels like Autumn. The ground is wet and the air is crisp. Nothing makes me feel more alive than days like today.

Litter trays can be cleaned. Dishes can be washed. Rubbish can be taken out. And they will be, today.

Matt will be home in 8 days. And he’s never leaving again. Ever. In the meantime I have a king sized bed to myself, and that’s pretty freaking awesome.

Daisy might pee on the floor, but she also gives the greatest kitten snuggles. And sometimes she talks to me, and she has the funniest little voice.

I have an idea of what to stitch for my Grandad. And once the house is clean I’ll have more motivation to do it. I also have no other obligations, all I have to do in the next week is make his gift and send it.

You guys, even though I don’t comment as much as I should. Reading posts about rainbows, a lovely lady who is eternally grateful, tasty chocolate treats, and a photography project with two of my favourite bloggers, are all things that have made me smile of late.

What’s making you smile?

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Cara / Apr 8 2011 12:28 pm

    Cutting the pup’s mudflaps and trimming her tail made me giggle today. She now is free from burrs in her fur and is looking rather dashing. She learned to “wait” to eat treats when I ask her to, and she is now sleeping on her bed on the floor rather than burrowing in mine. (It’s an independence thing for both of us, and I hope I can continue it.)

    Also, I cleaned my room and then forgot that I did that, so I thought, momentarily, that I had been robbed.

    I also opened a tin of saddle soap that my roommate couldn’t open even with her non-EDS/bendy-fingers – and then I polished up all of my boots. They nearly sparkle.

    I chatted with friends on the porch for hours. We talked about dogs, mostly, and how we are certain that they make our lives better. Cats, too, sure, but dogs do so in a unique way that comes with having them listen and learn from you. It’s good to have someone to talk to. I hope Matt speedily arrives home so that you’ll have a someone too.

  2. PuNk rAwK pUrL / Apr 8 2011 6:34 am

    I am sending you giant hugs!! & Rosco is sending infinite heaps of snuggles! hang in there you awesome woman you!!
    & thank you for mentioning my blog in your list of things that have made you smile lately! xoxo

  3. fatcatfromvox / Apr 8 2011 12:37 am

    internet cheerups: cuteoverload.com, disapprovingrabbits.com, good reads, the snark over at fark.com, my wonderful web peeps, random pictures at deviantart and flickr, nice comments on my blog, seeing what the rest of the world is up to….
    Hope Maisie continues to improve! Pet her for me, ok?

  4. Katie / Apr 8 2011 12:25 am

    I love love love the honesty and positivity in you, Zoe! 🙂 I hope these 8 days pass real quick for you so you Matt can take some of the worrying off you, my dear.

  5. ironyonhighheels / Apr 7 2011 10:39 pm

    I know the feeling. All of the sudden it’s all to much.
    When that happens, I go task by task. Taking the one that seems the most insurmountable first, then the rest usually is done in no time.

  6. MaryAnn / Apr 7 2011 8:40 pm

    Your post just made me smile 🙂 You have done a great job of listing out the stresses & then taking it on the chin & coming up with a plan for tackling it. I have found that when I am the most upset/discontent/blue/irritated that the best ‘cure’ for it is to start counting my blessings & thanking God for all that He has given.
    You’re doing a great job & soon your Matt will be home & things will be more normal – and you will be able to look back & see all that you accomplished & coped with on your own. That’s good stuff!

  7. Thalia / Apr 7 2011 7:31 pm

    I’m smiling about the fact that school’s almost done, and I have things pretty good (even though all this neverending fog [one whole week!!] is making me think otherwise).
    Thanks for helping me see the better side of things! Changing seasons help, too!
    I’m sending some virtual chocolates your way (I’m afraid that real ones will end up all melty!)

  8. caren / Apr 7 2011 11:58 am

    you just made me smile. with your ability to turn to a positive outlook amidst all the stresses in your life right now. I try to do that, too, but sometimes I fail. And that’s okay, too. That’s as human as it gets, right? To fall, then to pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and get back into the ring.
    what makes it easier is the little things, like a rainbow at your feet (xox!), or knowing someone who pumps out positivity, or chocolate and especially friends (near & far).
    big bundle of faraway hugs to you, my faraway friend.
    only 8 more days, and your big king bed will be filled once more with all the warmth in the world.
    p.s. it is one of the perks for when the man goes away, eh? the getting of an entire bed to yourself! it might be why I stay single. 😉

Leave a Reply

