Skip to content
April 2, 2011 / Zoe

The Russian Cat

In February I hosted a little giveaway over at My Girl Thursday. The prize was a custom made brooch, and now that I know that it is safely with Nova, who incidentally has a super cool blog, I can show what I made! I really loved this one, Nova introduced me to the style of Russian Gang tattoos, and I was so taken with them. I love tattoo art, and there’s something very cool about this style. Plus they like cats. And I like cats. And luckily, Nova likes cats too! A cat tattoo means you’re a thief, or you’re cunning, or you’re a cunning thief.

When I did the giveaway I planned to do something simple, because I have a lot of stitching obligations at the moment, what with all my Pay it forwarding and craft swapping going on. But when I have an idea I have to do it. He’s about 4.5cm wide and probably took a good 8-9 hours of stitching. Which if you’re not a cross stitcher, sounds insane. It’s slow and steady, this craft of mine. I could get things done quicker if I did them on a smaller count fabric (more squares per inch), but for something so small I think it looks clumsy. Besides, it’s my relaxation activity.

If you want a custom piece for yourself just contact me for a quote! It’d probably make my day. Or year.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. PuNk rAwK pUrL / Apr 8 2011 6:29 am

    i saw this on Nova’s blog & fell in love w/ it!! very nice indeed!

  2. Edith / Apr 4 2011 9:19 pm

    You have such attention to detail!! The cross in the eyes, his little chin, and the smoke! great work! Ill be putting an order in for sure!

  3. Cupkay / Apr 2 2011 11:44 pm

    HAHA THIS IS AWESOME! You did such a great job, and this brooch is so my style. I wish I knew about this giveaway while it was going on! I will definitely be contacting you about making me a custom brooch in the future (when my pockets aren’t empty)

    this really is great, seriously… amazing job once again.

    🙂

  4. fatcatfromvox / Apr 2 2011 11:23 pm

    Very cool!

  5. nova / Apr 2 2011 10:54 pm

    Thanks so much! I love it.

  6. mygirlthursday / Apr 2 2011 10:33 pm

    That is AWESOME! Wowie-zowie Zoe! That looks fantastic!!

  7. Thalia / Apr 2 2011 9:41 pm

    I love it! What an adorable (and badass!) cat! I’ll have to look up these tattoos…

Leave a Reply

