Skip to content
March 22, 2011 / Zoe

4 years.

Today is 4 years since I snuggled up to Matt and asked, ‘are you my boyfriend now?’ And he said, ‘well, we act like it, so I guess so.’ Romantic, huh?

We’re not exactly sure of the date, since we gradually turned from housemates into partners. So we celebrate on a convenient day in late March. We were going to go out for breakfast, but Maisies vet bills take priority. So I’m going to make pancakes for breakfast (in the middle of the afternoon) and he’s going to make pizza for dinner. It’s still a little extravagant, given our finances, but we deserve it.

We’re not big on celebrating though, it seems odd to celebrate something that’s so easy. I live with my best friend, and it doesn’t get better than that. He looks after me but always gives me freedom, not that I want it much, I’m a total homebody. But if I said, ‘hey, I’m going to backpack across Europe and you’re not invited,’ he’d be totally fine with it. He’d probably be extremely curious as to where I pulled the finances from, he’d be jealous and worried about how I would cope with my anxiety, but he wouldn’t stop me doing what I want to do. I like that. I also like his beard and his smiling eyes. I like how he makes me laugh like no one else and how smart he is, the smartest of the smart. I like that he listens to me talk about taxonomy and plants, and doesn’t try to tell me about philosophy in return. I like watching him play guitar, although I haven’t for a while because going out is scary. I like that being a musician makes him instantly more attractive to girls, but I wish I had the confidence to know that they should be jealous of me, not me of them. I like that he loves our cats with all his heart. Except Daisy, he has a strained relationship with Miss I-like-to-pee-on-your-clothes. I like that he respects all animals, and that’s he’s vegan. I like that he doesn’t expect me to be vegan too, and I like when he buys me cheese. I like that he doesn’t resent me for being a little bit crazy. I might not be so patient if the roles were reversed, and I was working two jobs and studying while he was at home being scared. I like how he nods and says ‘hmm’ when I show him things I make. It means he likes it. I like that he really doesn’t care that I couldn’t afford to buy him a birthday present last year, and I probably won’t be able to again this year. I like that all he wants is for me to cook him dinner and a tasty cake. I like that he willingly goes to fabric/craft stores with me, and looks at my choices and sometimes pretends to care. I like it when he brings me home a coffee because he knows I’m grumpy. I like that he likes books, and wants to have a whole library of them, like I do. I just like him. A lot.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. D / Mar 28 2011 3:17 pm

    I know I’m so late on this (been away) but this was so sweet! I hope he read it 😉 I love that you described how much you love him and why…reading about how you feel towards him and why, reminded me a lot of why I love my hubby…he seems to be pretty similar…lovely guys. I wish you both so much goodness!!!!

  2. Lindsay Ann / Mar 28 2011 12:42 am

    Awwwwww!!

    Enjoy your day! =]

  3. fatcatfromvox / Mar 23 2011 6:00 am

    Cheers to many (even better!) years to come!

  4. MaryAnn / Mar 22 2011 9:13 pm

    Sweet, sweet, sweet! My husband & I had a similar conversation when we began dating. I just asked him one night – are you my boyfriend? He still laughs about it. We don’t have a first date anniversary either. Now we have a wedding anniversary & we celebrate low key as well. What a gift from God that you appreciate your boy & he appreciates you. Thanks for sharing!

  5. ironyonhighheels / Mar 22 2011 2:50 pm

    Sounds wonderful. We other single girls seem to look a life time for a guy like that 😛
    And I guarantee you the girls are the jealous ones – because he picked *you*.

  6. lifeslightlyused / Mar 22 2011 1:48 pm

    You have a wonderful man there. Thank you for making me smile and letting me into your world a little. 🙂

  7. Kristi / Mar 22 2011 1:19 pm

    Zoe! That brought tears to my eyes and renewed my love for my guy. What a sweet, heartfelt, bare-all post! I wish you guys many, many happy years of likes and loves together!

  8. Katie / Mar 22 2011 12:30 pm

    Definitely a keeper. Happy 4th anniversary! 🙂

  9. Lily / Mar 22 2011 12:15 pm

    Congratulations on your four years together. It sounds like you have a pretty good relationship! I like that!

Leave a Reply

