Skip to content
March 19, 2011 / Zoe

Maisie III

From Monday to Friday this week:

I had about 15 hours sleep.

I ate about 4 ‘meals.’

I spent a huge amount of money, which I don’t have. (Thank you brother and sister)

I visited the vet 4 times. (Thank you Ieva)

I didn’t clean the house. Not a dish.

I didn’t brush, shave, groom or pluck any part of myself.

I’m pretty sure I wore the same stinky clothes every day.

But this makes it all ok.

It’s not over yet though. She’s battered, bruised, skeleton thin and has shaved patches all over. She still has very high spikes in blood glucose. The vet suspects that this might be due to the stress of being away from home, so she’s being treated with insulin at home for a few days to see if she stabilises. If she doesn’t… I really don’t know what’s next.

But I won’t give up hope until she does.

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jen / Mar 29 2011 3:30 pm

    Aww, isn’t she such a pretty girl. Love those green eyes! I hope she gets feeling better soon! xx

  2. lifeslightlyused / Mar 22 2011 1:51 pm

    much love coming to both of you

  3. Lindsay Ann / Mar 21 2011 8:49 pm

    Oh, I hope this lovely girl feels better soon!! It is horrid when your furry friends are ill.

    xoxo

  4. ironyonhighheels / Mar 20 2011 2:59 am

    Poor kitty and am so sorry to hear that it puts you out like this. Hope things will turn for better soon. And PS: Lily’s first sentence -> very important!! As difficult as it seems.

  5. Lily / Mar 20 2011 1:10 am

    Don’t forget to take care of you, so you can have the energy to take care of her.

    Praying that she pulls through. I had a friend when I was in junior high (7th/8th grade) whose dog had diabetes and the vet “experimented” with giving her insulin. (This was several years ago and here in the Midwest of the US they didn’t do a lot of the stuff they now do for animals). When they found the proper dosage, she got two shots every day, and lived a good LONG life. I don’t remember how old she was when they discovered the diabetes but she lived to almost 25 and by then I was well into my 20’s.

  6. Ieva / Mar 19 2011 11:56 pm

    Maisie is in our thoughts…we’re all hoping that she will pull through. You sound like you need to take care of yourself too…

  7. caren / Mar 19 2011 9:24 pm

    Maisie has a global healing-hope-love network going on; that’s a lot of focused thoughts going towards one little kitty. ♥
    I do hope she finds strength from being at home with you & Matt & her kitty sisters. It must feel good, even if its still so scary, to have that little face home again. Sending lots of kittylove her way!

  8. VeryZoe / Mar 19 2011 8:30 pm

    Love, Light and Happiness to both you and Maisie. Hope is a powerful thing xx

  9. fatcatfromvox / Mar 19 2011 7:13 pm

    Oooh, I hope she’ll pull through! Sending lots of good wishes and healing vibes!

  10. Katie / Mar 19 2011 5:30 pm

    Sending LOTS OF LOVE OVER. You both need it!

Trackbacks

  1. Birthday Kitties!! « A Giraffe in a Scarf
  2. In 2011 I… « A Giraffe in a Scarf

Leave a Reply

