Skip to content
March 14, 2011 / Zoe

Maisie.

Maisie is in the cat hospital tonight.

She’s always been slim, but in the last couple of weeks it became too much. She had blood tests yesterday, and today I got a  call from the vet telling me I had to bring her in NOW. It turns out she’s been diabetic for a long time, and as cats tend to do, has been hiding her illness. She now has ketosis, which basically means her blood is acidic, and she will be in the hospital for at least a few days. If (how awful is the word if) they can bring it under control she will come home and I will be giving her insulin needles twice a day. I’m not even worried about giving her needles, I’m worried about that little if.

Huge thanks to Ieva, who I met through SAFE, the organisation I foster cats for. She really came to my rescue. Matt’s away and I don’t have my license, and she happily took us to the vet on a moments notice. I don’t know what I would have done without her.

The house feels empty tonight. Hopefully I will hear good news in the morning. I love you, my sweet Maisie.

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. sparklfly / Mar 16 2011 11:47 am

    Awwwwww, I hope you post an update soon and she recovers and comes home. That last photo of her is beautiful…her eyes!

  2. Amiee / Mar 15 2011 12:04 pm

    Wishing you and Maisie good thoughts, let me know if I can help too.

  3. Lily / Mar 15 2011 10:38 am

    What a beautiful kitty! I’m glad they found out what’s wrong, praying that the if goes away and that she improves and that you bring her home really soon!

  4. Cara / Mar 15 2011 9:36 am

    (a thousand hugs for you and the kitties)

    I know how scary it is to have the fuzzballs at the vets, and my heart is with you as you await news. I hope that everything’ll turn out well and that Maisie will bounce back from this and be as quirky as ever.

  5. thursday / Mar 15 2011 9:36 am

    Poor little bunny cat! Glad to read that she’s doing okay at the vets. It’s always so scary when our pets get sickly 😦

  6. Lisa Gutierrez / Mar 15 2011 9:24 am

    Poor kitty! She’s so pretty. I hope she recovers!

  7. jenn / Mar 15 2011 8:29 am

    : (
    hang in there and be strong, maisie!

  8. Thalia / Mar 15 2011 6:34 am

    Sending hugs and good vibes to Maisie! ❤

  9. Lauren / Mar 15 2011 12:57 am

    Oh no, poor kitty. 😦

  10. caren / Mar 15 2011 12:20 am

    Maisie! Sweet Maisie! I am sending her prayers and thinking positive thoughts for the darling girl. I am positive her vet will help her, and she will come back home to you.

    Reading this made me realize my cat, Strongpaw, has been losing weight abnormally and I should stop ignoring it. I think I get to a place where I pretend nothing is wrong; ignore symptoms and they’ll go away (I do this for myself, too!).
    Much love to you all!

  11. justthreadtwiddling / Mar 14 2011 11:41 pm

    Hugs! I know it might seem worse with your guy away. She is a pretty thing a we are sending ‘get well soon’ vibes through the air!

  12. Ieva / Mar 14 2011 11:20 pm

    Glad to help, Zoe. I hope all will be well with Maisie.

Leave a Reply

