Skip to content
March 11, 2011 / Zoe

Holga’s day at the zoo.

A couple of weeks ago I went to the Perth Zoo. I went with my sister, but I also bought along my good friend Holga*. Holga is pretty and cute, but she really prefers sunlight, hence the grain in some of these photos. But that’s the charm of lomography!

Being watched by a hyena. So cool.

Prowling over to say hello.

My favourite attraction. I could watch them lope around all day.

The giraffe’s roommates. I imagine they look down on the zebras with disdain. Why so short?

Walking through Africa. So much greenery at Perth Zoo.

Beautiful elephant. The dexterity they have with their trunks fascinates me!

Under a fig tree.

There’s a red kangaroo there, right in the middle. He’s a little bit camouflaged.

The numbat. I really love watching the numbats scurry around.

I’m a tree nerd, and this is my favourite kind of tree. A Boab tree.

All in a line.

Head down, tail up!

It’s not just me who has a love for zoos and lomography. Through the magic of twitter, I inspired two other ladies to head to the zoo with their own little cameras! Three different countries, three different zoos! Check out more Holga zoo photos by Katie from Taiwan, and Caren from Canada!

 

* If you’re wondering, Holga is a brand of camera, they are cheap and plastic, but they now have a bit of a cult status. I have a Holga 135 BC.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. ejorpin / Mar 18 2011 3:23 pm

    These are gorgeous! I love the depth and richness you get with old school cameras, I must drag my Diana F+ out again soon…

    ps. Zoos! Yay!

  2. sparklfly / Mar 16 2011 11:44 am

    Awwww, Iove the hyenas and the fig tree is beautiful 😉 Love the old look of the photos.

  3. PuNk rAwK pUrL / Mar 14 2011 2:41 pm

    that fig tree… i could hang out there all day! what a beauty.
    & NUMBATS! yay!!

    this was such a fabulous collaborative project.

  4. Cara / Mar 12 2011 6:50 am

    I love this post! I wish I had a Holga. I need to dig my Brownie out sometime soon.

    Also, the photo of the zebras really fits with what I’m dealing with in this neck woods, so I have it as my computer background. Thanks, Zoe! 🙂

  5. Katie / Mar 11 2011 11:46 am

    I bet it was awesome walking through Africa! It’s nice to knock into greenery instead of people! 🙂

  6. caren / Mar 11 2011 11:46 am

    Wow! What a lush environment! I love that you and Katie both have giraffes. I, sadly, do not at my little local zoo. I love watching them so!
    Numbats!! aw, sweet numbats!
    That Boab tree is huge! I love that type, too (of which, of course, I have none of here in Canada).
    That Hyena is so freaky cool!
    So happy we all got our posts done today. Going to the zoo zoo zoo!
    I’m going to link directly to your posts via mine now! woohoo!
    yah … I know, I got a little excited over our lomography zoo visits. ;P

    • Katie / Mar 11 2011 11:49 am

      LOL me too! I love looking at how different our zoos are!

  7. Thalia / Mar 11 2011 11:43 am

    Elephants! Yes!
    I love these pictures- they have a really neat feel to them, like you’re going back in time to a different place! Or maybe it’s because it’s winter here, and seeing leaves is so exciting!

Trackbacks

  1. Trigger-happy at the Taipei Zoo. « Curating Cuteness

Leave a Reply

