Skip to content
March 2, 2011 / Zoe

Catch up day

The last few weeks have been weird, I have been putting all my energy into the Craft Swap and ignoring everything else. Not that I’ve been working that whole time on the swap, just my energy has been focused on thinking about it, y’know? I actually left it to the last minute (anyone who knows me is not surprised) and spent about 8 or 9 hours yesterday putting it together. It’s a round-robin of 81 wonderful crafty ladies (I don’t know where all the crafty guys are!) and it took so long because I wanted to make it as International as possible, because that’s what I named the thing! Unfortunately there were more Americans than all the other countries combined, but I made sure that if you were sending within the US, you would receive internationally, and vice versa. After I finished I went through to check it and realised some people were sending and receiving from the same place…boring! So then I went through and moved people around to fix that. And then, I just had to put that darn list down!

There’s a great mix of people in the swap, some have blogs, some have Etsy stores, and some are ring-ins from the outer circles of internetland. I think I will randomly pick a few who have shops/blogs to feature here over the next 6 months.

But today is catch up day, and the first thing on my list is ‘write a blog with a colourful photo.’ Alright list, this is my new thrifted tea-pot.

I had to take him home, I couldn’t leave him behind where someone not appreciative of his awesomeness might get him! And hell, $5 for a pyramid shaped, brightly coloured, weird looking tea pot is a bargain in my eyes. Sister and Boy did not agree, the incredulousness in their eyes astounded me! I mean, come on! It’s a pyramid! And it has colours! *sigh* I actually got him the same day as I got my Singer, and I’m not sure which I was more excited about.

 

13 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lindsay Ann / Mar 10 2011 10:50 am

    I’m stoked to share and see what comes my way! =]

    Even tho I’m not a thrifter, I love the teapot. It reminds me of a Rubix cube!

  2. mygirlthursday / Mar 4 2011 5:57 am

    Don’t you just hate it when you thrift something you think is perfection and no one else can see it? Thank god for the internet or my supreme thrifting skills would go under-appreciated.

    And wowie zowie Zoe! You got a huge number of participants! I’m super proud of you!

  3. Blue Eyed Night Owl / Mar 4 2011 5:55 am

    First off, that teapot is absolutely amazing!

    Thanks for putting so much time into the swap to make it all perfect. I am really really excited about it. I already know what I’m gonna make, although of course making the actual item will take loads and loads more time than sketching it up. Can’t wait to start the real thing though:)

  4. Donaji / Mar 3 2011 4:31 am

    Forgot to mention, it would be even more awesome if the tea would come out just as colourful 😉

  5. Donaji / Mar 3 2011 4:30 am

    Incredulous!?!?! what?!?! seriously? that is one precious treasure! I’ve never seen anything like it…I’d take it… $5? hell yes.

  6. katie / Mar 3 2011 3:50 am

    I just love it! And the sewing machine too 🙂 I know it’s hard to walk away from certain things. Especially something so one of a kind like this. You are going to have to come to my blog again tomorrow for my thrift link party 🙂

  7. fatcatfromvox / Mar 3 2011 12:01 am

    So excited about the craft swap, trying to come up with something fun for my designated lady 🙂

  8. caren / Mar 2 2011 2:17 pm

    That is a freaking fabulous teapot!! Wish I could come over & drink a cup with you. You did the right thing, giving that colourful pyramid teapot a home. It just needs some love to let its true colours shine! 😀

  9. Cara / Mar 2 2011 1:12 pm

    I’m excited about the craft swap, and I’m very thankful for all of the time and energy you put into it. And I know what you mean by your mind being occupied by something, even if you’re not actively working on it at the moment. I think that’s part of how I cycle through not-so-good-stuff, because I put my energy into the wrong place. I’m super pleased that you put your energy into such a great idea, though. 🙂

  10. RemysGrammu / Mar 2 2011 12:56 pm

    Thank you for all of your hard work. I’m ready with my idea but won’t finalize my choice until I see who I get to send to. As Remy would say “shoooo excited”. She’s two.

  11. PuNk rAwK pUrL / Mar 2 2011 12:29 pm

    i am looking forward to crafting something special for me swapee.

  12. Katie / Mar 2 2011 11:24 am

    Well, you should make tea with this gorgeous teapot and not serve the Sister and the Boy! 😀

  13. april / Mar 2 2011 11:05 am

    That is truly gorgeous – *much teapot envy* 🙂

Leave a Reply

