Skip to content
February 9, 2011 / Zoe

Addicted to colour.

My embroidery flosses are probably the only thing in my life that are organised. I wish I could say my wardrobe or fridge looked this good.

I did once colour co-ordinate the fridge, but it didn’t last long. I also once tried to colour co-ordinate my books, but there was a predominance of black and white, so that was a bit boring. My fabric is kind of colour co-ordinated, but it’s hard with all the patterns to know where things should go. But embroidery floss? Embroidery floss I can do. And it makes my heart happy, and my eyes too!

Given the option, I’ll buy anything in bright colours, I’m not a neutral kind of girl. Which is why spotlight is my favourite place in the world, I’m not even exaggerating. If you’re not from Australia, Spotlight is the number one best most amazing craft and homewares store in the country, and they have everything in gorgeous colour. Fabric, towels, wool, zips, storage boxes, paper, cards, curtains, sheets, bedding, thread and of course embroidery floss! They have everything a girl could dream of.

I go there once a fortnight or so, and when I’m telling Matt what I need, I will always add, ‘oh, and I’ll just get a handful of colour.’ That’s when I stand in front of the two whole racks of embroidery floss and take a deep breath to try and keep the feeling inside. The feeling of extreme organisation, combined with extreme colour, is perfection. Then I choose 2 or 3 lucky colours to take home with me and carefully add them to my collection.

So, what do you like to organise?

 

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jen / Mar 29 2011 3:39 pm

    *le sigh* So gorgeous! I’m a big color-organizer of buttons, beads and my closet. Dressers, not so much. But my closet HAS to be organized by color. And then I even break it down a little further by clothing type. It’s awful. 🙂

  2. Lindsay Ann / Feb 19 2011 2:50 am

    Oh my! This makes me want to take up embroidery, STAT! I *heart* colour, but the Newf is COMPLETELY colour blind. It can certainly be a bit of a downer.

    Personally, I organize EVERYTHING. This drives the Newf a little nuts. We’re all about the give and take. =]

  3. Thalia / Feb 11 2011 10:01 pm

    I love that you love bright colours too- I just went to a yarn store yesterday, and without any conscious thinking I went STRAIGHT for the brightest colours I could find!
    I love that you organize your embroidery thread! I totally don’t organize anything like that…I wish I did! I guess you could say that I organize my earrings- I have about 7 Altoid tins filled with them, and they’re all organized in there! (fancy, not so fancy, crazy, etc)
    Colour coordinating your fridge sounds totally awesome! What a super amazing idea 🙂
    Also: now I want to go to Spotlight!

    Okay I’m done.

  4. Lauren / Feb 10 2011 9:02 am

    These are so pretty.

  5. fatcatfromvox / Feb 9 2011 11:59 pm

    My books, CDs and DVDs are organised (been a librarian and worked in a bookstore), other than that it is happy chaos 🙂

  6. Ieva / Feb 9 2011 10:52 pm

    This really appeals to the librarian in me (yes I was one for many years!!). I love to collect earrings and I keep them in boxes like this – grouped according to colour. I’m not going to publicly confess to any of the other things I categorise.. LOL!

  7. Circe / Feb 9 2011 9:28 pm

    what a great looking box of embroidery floss. It makes me happy too

  8. Tina / Feb 9 2011 7:35 pm

    I love when everything is in it’s place, your thread looks so neat & tidy, and I love any kind of container to keep things together. My biggest challenge is keeping the boys toys organized & thanks to a great Ikea cube shelf & plastic bins I have it all sorted. Lego, hotwheels, puzzles,books& a bin full of *ahem* McDonald Happy meal toys:)

  9. Donaji / Feb 9 2011 3:08 pm

    Oh my, that’s gorgeous!!! I laughed when you said you tried to do the fridge…lol! I do color-coordinate my closet. I have a hard time like you, with prints, but somehow I figured it out. Aside from color coordination, I organize my books, pantry, fridge, art supplies, shoes, ummm…pretty much everything. I’m a little OCD, but not to an extreme. I must have stuff in order though, otherwise I can’t sleep. Lovely photo, I wish they were all eatable and I could lick them all at once and each one would taste differently.

Leave a Reply

