Skip to content
January 30, 2011 / Zoe

Birthday fabrics.

I’m so easy to buy for, seriously I am.

This is what I bought for myself on my birthday. I hardly ever buy new fabrics, except for calico, mostly because I can’t afford them, but also because I just loving using thrifted pillow cases and anything else I can find. I only bought small pieces of these, just enough to use as a trim on some totes or for pot holders.

I can’t decide if the birds or the leaves are my favourite. They’re both so cute!

Of course I couldn’t resist grabbing a few embroidery threads too. I’m starting to accumulate an insane amount of thread, and I know I’ll never use them all. But I just can’t resist, I want to collect all the colours!

Matt’s Mum also knows exactly what to buy for me. I think she had a lot of fun finding these fabrics for me. She bought them HERE, and I think I’ll be a repeat customer, they have so much variety! How great are the cats in sunglasses?

My favourite piece from Matt’s Mum is this safari print though. This giraffe and okapi will definitely be making their way onto the main panel of a cushion cover in the near future.

My fabulous sister sent me this t-shirt from Threadless. I’m so glad she suggested I could cut it up and turn it into a tote, because I probably will. These two lovers deserve to be seen, and they’ll get way more use as a cute bag than they would as a tee.

And my Mumma? My darling wonderful Mum, well she just knows me too well. Native flowers and green! Gorgeous. And a good sized piece of some kind of linen, she bough it at the op shop for $1 so I don’t know if it’s a cotton blend or not. I can’t decide if I’ll use it for cross stitching or to make a couple of cushion covers. Decisions, decisions!

This carrot fabrics makes me smile, it’s going to be perfect for tote bag trims.

Mum also bought me this ‘fabric muffin.’ It’s a bit pricey for the amount of fabric in there, but she knew I would love it. I don’t know if I’ll even use the fabric, it’s just too cute how it is!

Mum also made me this brooch. It’s so sweet!

The parcel from Mum was so great, it was so full of amazingness (totally a word), there were crafting books, a super long paper garland, a handmade card, sewing patterns she made herself, the fabric, the brooch, some recipes, blank card templates. She is a seriously crafty lady and she packs a mean parcel, that’s for sure.

While I’m singing my Mum’s praises you should know that she’s participating in my International Craft Swap! So you really should sign up for the chance to get a package from her… just sayin’.

And yes, I will probably find a way to subtly mention the International Craft Swap in every post for the next month.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Circe / Feb 3 2011 11:51 pm

    I love all of your B-day gifts, especially the safari and carrot prints. so lovely. I know I’m really, really late in getting this to you, but happy birthday

  2. ironyonhighheels / Feb 1 2011 3:55 am

    That’s great when people know what to give you as present and don’t just buy something.
    Happy belated birthday!

  3. mandaray / Jan 31 2011 1:52 am

    Those fabrics are gorgeous!! I love all of them. And that T-shirt will make an adorable tote bag. You got some really awesome gifts. 🙂

  4. Lucie / Jan 30 2011 4:11 pm

    Wow, I guess that’s the benefit of living on the other side of the country, Mum never does that for me!
    The Yule present I gave you last year was made from one of those fabric muffins, they are so cute!

    • Zoe / Jan 30 2011 4:23 pm

      Ha, I guess it is. Although I would swap it all to be able to spend the weekends with my mum!

  5. fatcatfromvox / Jan 30 2011 6:14 am

    ooooh, such wonderful gifts! I love the jungle-themed one – but all of them are great!

  6. Donaji / Jan 30 2011 3:46 am

    so many goodies!!!! how exciting! i do have to stop myself from purchasing lots of fabric cause it’s seriously addicting! so what i did was, I went through my closet and got rid of a mountain of clothes I no longer want…so I’m gonna use them to make stuff cause I like some of the print.

    I specially like the giraffe and dinosaur shirt 🙂

Leave a Reply

