Skip to content
January 27, 2011 / Zoe

R.I.P Wally.

I called my Mum this morning because I was upset about Maisie being sick. Unfortunately she had worse news for me. My beloved pet sheep Wally has passed away. I can’t really explain how much I loved that big fat boof head. I bottle fed him from when he was a few days old, he really was my baby. He was 6 and a half years old, which is quite young for a sheep, but I guess that’s the way it goes sometimes. He had a wonderful life, with a couple of acres to himself and people who were always willing to give him a head scratch. You can read more about him HERE.

Run forever free my sweet sweet boy.

As for Maisie, she looks a lot better this afternoon. Last night she looked terrible. Her skin was loose, which is a sign of dehydration, and she hadn’t eaten for over 24 hours, which isn’t unusual for a cat, but that on top of being dehydrated and being so so lethargic was a real worry. And she looked so thin. She looked like my sister’s 10 year old cat when she goes through a bad spell, except Maisie isn’t 10, she’s 2. We were going to take her to the vet this morning, but when the time came around she looked a little better, she was alert and drank heaps of water. So I decided to give her until the afternoon to eat something, or we’d take this evening. Well at about lunch time I stuck some fresh chicken under her nose and she ate it. And she ate and ate and ate. I don’t know why she felt the need to worry me like that, but I’m just glad she’s feeling better. She’s still sleeping a lot, but clearly she’s feeling better. Phew.

Something exciting is happening on my blog tomorrow, and it’s not just that it’s my birthday. I hope you all think it’s exciting too!

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lindsay Ann / Jan 31 2011 8:02 am

    Sorry to hear about Wally. =[

    Kudos to Maisie though! *hugs*

  2. caren / Jan 28 2011 8:13 pm

    Oh, sweet boofy Wally … you had a good friend in Zoe, and a good life full of head pats & freedom.
    Zoe, I am so sorry to hear of the loss of Wally … who had such a good name & who had you to love.
    I also think it is very very cool that you had a pet sheep. And that you got to bottle feed him when he was just a wee lad. {{hugs}}

    I am happy to hear that Maise is doing better! Silly girl … she shouldn’t be worrying you like that!

  3. fatcatfromvox / Jan 28 2011 5:29 am

    Hope Maisie continues to get better!

    Sorry about the loss of your sheep, I bet his live was wonderful!

  4. Cara / Jan 28 2011 1:26 am

    (Hug) That really sucks. Stupid week of doom. Poor Wally. I bet he had an awesome life, though, even if it wasn’t as long as it could’ve been. And hurrah for Maisie improving. Cats are awesome jerks who scare us and then go back to being all independent. Mrrow.

  5. Circe / Jan 27 2011 9:20 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about poor Wally, it so hard to lose a pet. I am glad though that Maisie is looking and feeling better. I think you’re right, sometimes they just like to scare us.

  6. Ieva / Jan 27 2011 4:02 pm

    Sorry to hear about Wally – it’s always hard to lose a pet. Glad Maisie is better though. My boy was a bit off colour for a few days, but he seems to have perked up as well. They are both still on the bikkies for sensitive stomachs until I’m sure.

  7. Lucie / Jan 27 2011 3:42 pm

    It’s so sad about Wally; obviously I wasn’t as close to him as you were, but I too will miss him.
    I’m glad Maisie has perked up, hopefully it was just a tummy bug, I’m sure cats get those, too…
    And my cat is now 12 years old (not 10). Though to be sure, she has looked terrible on and off for at least two years.
    xo

  8. ironyonhighheels / Jan 27 2011 3:42 pm

    I am sorry for you loss. It’s hard to lose a pet that one gotten so close to.
    Also am glad to hear that Maisie is doing better! 😉

Leave a Reply

