Skip to content
January 17, 2011 / Zoe

Hunting crickets.

Somehow it’s been a week since I posted. I have no idea how that happened, I’d be disappointed in myself if I had of made a new years resolution to blog more often, like I thought about doing. But I didn’t, so it’s ok! This last week has been a bit of a blur, I’m tired but I can’t sleep, hungry but I have no appetite, full of ideas for cross stitches, but I have no motivation. I’ll snap out of it, no doubt.

Because of the hot weather we’ve been having, a few visitors of the insect persuasion have been finding their way inside. Little do they know, I have protection.

Not that I think my life is at risk from a little cricket. In fact I find insects to be quite endearing. But not endearing enough to rescue them from the guard cats. The girls have so much fun hunting them down that I’d feel guilty to take that fun away from them!

We have a pile of books of the floor that are waiting to be given away on Freecycle, and the three girls all pranced and danced around, trying to coax the cricket out. It was kind of fascinating to watch!

Something I find really interesting is that in every cricket hunt I’ve watched it’s been Maisie who got to eat the cricket. I’m curious to know if it’s because she’s the only one gross enough to want to, or if it’s because she’s the Queen of the house and she gets first dibs. It’s like living in an African Safari around here!

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lindsay Ann / Jan 20 2011 10:21 am

    I’m not a cat person, but somehow I just love the pic with them all staring at the pile of books!

    Funny creatures!

  2. Stefany / Jan 19 2011 11:54 pm

    I love seeing pics of your cats, they’re so cute xx

  3. Lucie / Jan 19 2011 3:48 pm

    Cute photos, it’s a shame you haven’t got a locust plague to keep them entertained; Coalie and Morgen had so much fun chasing and eating the locusts swarming around Moyston.

  4. Aussie Emjay / Jan 18 2011 10:11 am

    Your cats have such gorgeously sleek coats.

  5. PunK rAwK pUrL / Jan 18 2011 6:32 am

    You have such gorgeous kitties!

    Rosco genuinely wants to play with the spiders he finds in the house. And after he has “played” for a minute with them he genuinely looks sad that the spider doesn’t seem to play back.

    • Zoe / Jan 18 2011 11:26 am

      Aww, you should totally get a kitten or three to play with Rosco.

  6. Katie / Jan 17 2011 10:11 pm

    I wish I could see the cricket in there somewhere!!!

  7. Ieva / Jan 17 2011 9:49 pm

    By the way, I mean’t to add that your cats look gorgeous, glossy and velvety in those photos.

  8. Ieva / Jan 17 2011 9:48 pm

    Tina was out in the courtyard yesterday evening (on a supervised outing before dinner) and caught a giant brown cockroach – she immediately dashed inside with it and let it go, then watched it running around… UGH. Unfortunately I could not allow such fun to continue.

    • Zoe / Jan 18 2011 11:24 am

      I wouldn’t have been so thrilled if it had of been a cockroach in the middle of all the fun… Ick!

  9. Circe / Jan 17 2011 9:28 pm

    that’s funny, everytime Cadie finds a bug in the apartment she gets all freaked out and comes to get me so that I will remove it. She just can’t relax knowing theres a bug wandering around. But as soon as I get rid of it, she falls down and goes to sleep, as if this was her victory.

    • Zoe / Jan 18 2011 11:24 am

      Ha! Poor Cadie, she’s trying her best to protect you!

Leave a Reply

