Skip to content
January 6, 2011 / Zoe

Op Shop Finds.

I had a lovely op shop trip today, my favourite shop has been closed since before Christmas, so I was very eager to get my hands on the ‘new’ product!

I spent $15 and took home quite an impressive stash! I got all these spools and bobbins of a mix of cotton and nylon threads for $2! Even if they just sit on a shelf and look pretty, it was totally worth it!

A packet of gorgeous embroidery floss for 50c. I’ve never heard of the brand either, so that makes them even better.

I found a handful of fabrics, including the purple which the photos are taken on, a lovely green gingham, and a hideous flower print that I think will be perfect for some bag linings!

I’m completely in love with this grey wool, there was a huge bag of it there so I think I’m going to have to go back and get some more. The label is in German, so I have don’t know much about it. It’s so fine and soft though, and 50% Dralon, which I think is a pretty high quality acrylic fiber. My cluckiness was set off with visions of little grey baby hats and tiny little grey booties. *swoon*

Last of all was an Encyclopedia of Sewing Techniques, which I predict will come in handy in the future!

Daisy wants to know when she can get into my new stash of crafty goodness.

Never Daisy, I don’t chew on your things.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. ironyonhighheels / Jan 9 2011 5:58 pm

    Well done shopping!
    By the way – you are right about the dralon being an acrylic fiber (Polyacrylnitril). I just thought to let you know that it is a fiber that can’t take more then 40 C washing. Since you were thinking in terms of baby clothes 😉

    • Zoe / Jan 9 2011 7:25 pm

      Oh thank you! I probably wouldn’t have even thought of washing temp!

  2. Circe / Jan 6 2011 9:27 pm

    “A hideous fabric that will make a nice linner” made me laugh. Graet finds, and great bargains. A successful trip all around

  3. Lindsay Ann / Jan 6 2011 3:03 pm

    What a steal!

    I just LOVE that wool myself! Hopefully you’ll put some grey on your shop for us! =]

    L

  4. Cara / Jan 6 2011 7:17 am

    Oooh! That’s a rather impressive haul! Nice work.

    I love sewing with repurposed fabric – especially if it’s free or nearly so. That way, I don’t feel too badly if I mess up a project. And when I succeed, it feels even better, knowing I didn’t spend much at all on supplies.

  5. Katie / Jan 6 2011 2:07 am

    What a haul! I totally wanna thumb through the encyclopedia! 🙂

Leave a Reply

