Skip to content
January 3, 2011 / Zoe

Maisie and Daisy have a birthday

**Warning: This post is VERY cat-centric. If you don’t like cats, you probably won’t enjoy it. Pop over my archives on the right and find something else to read.**

Today we celebrated the birthdays of my two grey kitties, Thomasia (Maisie) and Dasypogon (Daisy). We never intended for them to have rhyming names, that’s just the way it happened.

Maisie is 2 years old and I know her birthday is Jan 2nd because she was from a breeder, but this is Daisy’s approximate 1st birthday. I counted back the weeks from when we got her and it was sometime around now, and I figured it was easiest for them to have the same birthday.

They both got their birthday presents early, Daisy got hers very early, in about April she got to have 2 huge abbesses removed from her face. Isn’t she a lucky girl?! She was really pleased.

And Maisie got hers about a month ago, she got a cortisone injection, a course of antibiotics and super expensive hypoallergenic food. I know she appreciated it.

What can I say about my magnificent girls? They make my life better every single day; every morning I wake up with Maisie sitting on my chest, or casually knocking things off my bed side table, and every night I go to sleep after a snuggle from Miss Daisy. I smile whenever I see them, whether they’re running full pelt from one end of the house to the other, or snuggling up on the couch, biting each other on the legs or peacefully grooming each others face.

When we got Daisy we thought she looked exactly like Maisie, but now she’s grown they’re very different, and it’s quite obvious she isn’t half Russian Blue, but half of something else equally beautiful! Daisy is a much darker blue, with a much thicker coat. Both of them are lovely and plush, perfect for stroking. Maisie has bright emerald green eyes and Daisy has rich amber eyes.

Maisie is free with her affection, anyone who walks into our house is sure to get a leg rub and have a chin scratch demanded of them. Daisy is a scaredy cat, if someone knocks on the door she’ll dive into the wardrobe as quick as she can. Somehow that makes her affection for me more meaningful, Matt and I are the only people permitted to stroke her lovely coat and give her butt rubs, I love that we’re the only people she trusts. Daisy LOVE butt rubs, by butt rubs I mean when I scratch her back, at the base of her tail. When we’re in bed she will sit facing away from us and slowly back up, just to ensure we know what she wants. She’s very apt at the downward dog position when she’s receiving said butt rubs, it’s completely adorable. Maisie is more of a face and neck girl, a chin rub will put her into purring ecstasy.

Daisy doesn’t like being held at all, when you hold her it looks like her eyeballs are going to pop out. It’s the very same look we received from her on the drive home from picking her up. It’s a pure, ‘WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO ME’ face.

Maisie, however, loves to be held like a baby. I hold her and slow dance around the room. She purrs and gently kneads the air. I couldn’t ask for a sweeter dance partner.

Maisie isn’t big on playing any more, but Daisy hasn’t grown out of kitten mode. She chases flies with so much energy and vigour, it really is a joy to watch. She can leap really high into the air too, she’s so acrobatic.

Happy Birthday my darling girls, I’m so lucky to have you both!

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. jenn / Jan 19 2011 9:00 am

    wow, your daisy looks SO much like my ash, right down to the eye color, the subtle striping in her back legs and tail, and the little white patch on her chest. awesome!

    • Zoe / Jan 19 2011 9:35 am

      Aww, cute! You’re so lucky to have a Daisy clone!

  2. ironyonhighheels / Jan 9 2011 6:03 pm

    Love that picture with the kitty sleeping on her back! (Never mind the rest of the pictures – being the cat freak that I am)

  3. urban craft / Jan 7 2011 1:03 am

    Quite amazing creatures you have there. I’ve never had a cat (I’m more of a dog person) but the son and husband are more prone to cats. We will probably get a cat soon and I would love for it to be just like your beauties.

    • Zoe / Jan 7 2011 7:43 am

      They really are wonderful to live with, I hope you do get a feline friend!

  4. Circe / Jan 3 2011 9:18 pm

    They’re so beautiful, happy birthday to you all

  5. Stefany / Jan 3 2011 9:12 am

    Your kitty cats are soo adorable!! I hope the one with the stitches feels better soon xx

  6. Lily / Jan 3 2011 7:05 am

    I love kitties! I am down to two, Kissa (Keessa) and Emmy, Kissa is my scaredy cat and Emmy is my affectionate one, but she does have to warm up to others. Your kitties are gorgeous, they look like Russian Blues or even Abyssinians. They look thoroughly happy to be where they are!

  7. Ieva / Jan 3 2011 4:57 am

    They are gorgeous girls!!

  8. thursday / Jan 3 2011 2:34 am

    Awwwwww, look at those babies!! And cortisone injections? Your cats are so Hollywood 😉

    • Zoe / Jan 3 2011 3:57 am

      Tell me about it, they’re already asking for botox injections for next year.

Leave a Reply

