Skip to content
December 21, 2010 / Zoe

Inside My Handbag (or I Got Mail)

As I stood in line at Target this morning (yes, I went to Target 5 days before Christmas, round of applause for this agoraphobia-defying act, if you will) I had major bag rummage moment. You know what I mean, I was finding receipt after receipt, lolly wrappers, empty gifts cards, but I was not finding the less than empty gift card I was looking for. I eventually found it, but I did come to the conclusion that I should clean out my handbag. It was pretty uncanny timing, because after that I went to the post office and picked up a lovely parcel from Chantilly at My Girl Thursday, it included a gorgeous doily tote bag, which I immediately decided should become my new go-to bag. I’m not the kind of girl with a million handbags, the kind of girl who is constantly swapping contents from bag to bag. I have my favourite bag and I use it until it falls apart. My bag was falling apart.

This is my old bag. My mum made it for me, it’s just the right size and I love it.

It’s been held together with a safety pin for at least a year and a half. An easy fix, but I liked that I could do it up and still have some give.  Mum puts the ‘made with love’ tag on everything she makes with someone special in mind.

I honestly can’t believe I’m posting this on the internet. This is what was in my handbag.

Receipts, bus tickets, napkins, envelopes, shopping lists, bank cards, lip gloss, cough lollies, barley sugars and fabric samples. It also usually includes my camera and a book.

I checked to see what personal information you can glean from this photo, let me save you the trouble. I bank at a bank, I ride with Transperth, I go to Source foods, I needed to buy matching thread for a green and brown fabric, I had a cold sometime in the last two years, I went to the cinema sometime in the last two years, I went to Target sometime in the last two years (Ok, that was today, you got me), I live on something-borough road and my postcode is 6006.

You’re welcome.

And here is my new bag from My Girl Thursday! Yes, green is my favourite colour, I’d feel weird without green over my shoulder. Isn’t it gorgeous? This photo doesn’t do it justice.

Here’s my new bag contents. Wallet, paracetamol, lip gloss (which I hardly use, but you never know), my favourite sharpie, barley sugars and a puzzle piece. Can you see the puzzle piece? It’s on the doily. I couldn’t throw it out, never know when it’ll come in handy. Plus my camera and a book. I’m going to really try to keep it this way, this bag is a lot deeper than my old one, so it won’t be so forgiving to my paper hoarding.

Another plus to the bag clean out was that I discovered a hole in the lining. This is what I found in there.

Two green buttons, two green earrings (did I mention green is my favourite colour?), the missing press stud, a tiny bulldog clip I accidentally stole from Medicare, a tiny wooden elephant which belonged to my Aunt and $5.45. Pretty good haul, me thinks.

And just because Chantilly wanted to make me really happy today, she also sent me this amazingly wonderful needlepoint book. It’s so colourful, now I’m really keen to give needlepoint a go. If you’re wondering, needlepoint is a kind of needlework similar to cross stitch.

“Humour adds freshness to needlepoint.” I love it!

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Aussie Emjay / Jan 1 2011 5:08 am

    Really enjoyable post. The bag is really cute.

  2. Jess / Dec 22 2010 7:56 am

    Oh, loved the bag from your mum, how sweet!

    And the contents look suspiciously like mine.. even though I try and try again to keep it clean!

    And Chantilly is the sweetest – what a gorgeous bag she made you!

  3. caren / Dec 21 2010 12:49 pm

    Love that you showed the Before & After shots! My purse contents is more akin to the Before shot (full of papers, empty wrappers, random might-need-it-someday-things).
    That’s an awesome haul you found in the lining of your old bag! (great buttons!).

  4. thursday / Dec 21 2010 7:58 am

    I can’t tell you how relieved I am to hear that the tote arrived in a timely manner! Isn’t that magazine filled with cuteness? I loved it well, but I never got around to using it. Glad it found a new home with a cross stitch loving lady:)

  5. Ieva / Dec 21 2010 6:08 am

    Loved your story, and the bags. Well I clean my bag out on a regular basis!! but what actually happens is…all the receipts etc end up on the dining table…I keep looking at them thinking I need to sort it all out, then someone comes to visit me, and shame makes me shuffle them all off into a box, so now I have a box to sort through which seems to be growing daily…argh…last year I went through about 3 years worth of boxes and I made a resolution not to let that happen again, and horrors…it’s starting… By the way, I also tend to keep using the same bag until it falls apart. Well I’m hearing insistent meows demanding breakfast, so I’d better go.

    • Zoe / Dec 21 2010 11:16 am

      Ha! Yes, at least my problem is contained. That’s probably only because if it did gets transferred elsewhere my receipts would turn into cat toys…

      • Ieva / Dec 21 2010 11:44 pm

        Hey, I’ve posted you something to show you what happens to mine 🙂

  6. Stefany / Dec 21 2010 1:44 am

    That bag your mum made you is lovely, that’s such a thoughtful thing to do 🙂 Also the contents is very similar to mine, full of receipts haha x

  7. thalia / Dec 21 2010 1:34 am

    beautiful!!! i should really get me one of those bags 🙂

  8. Katie / Dec 21 2010 12:53 am

    LOL this is hilarious! I own the same mess divided into two or three bags I use on rotation! WHY did you post that on the Internet?! Gosh, I can’t stop laughing. P.S. I LOVE finding stuff in the hole of linings.

    • Zoe / Dec 21 2010 12:59 am

      Ha, I guess I was in a revealing mood! Making you laugh is totally worth it!

Leave a Reply

