Skip to content
December 16, 2010 / Zoe

Get outside

I had mixed feelings about this weeks You Capture theme. I’m agoraphobic, so the theme of ‘outside’ made my stomach drop and my palms start to sweat. But despite being scared I still need to go outside! And most of my favourite things happen to be outside! Plants, animals, weather.

These photos are taken from the top of Reabold hill. Perth is on a huge coastal plain, so it’s very very flat and very very sandy. Reabold hill is in Bold Park, where I used to work (when I wasn’t agoraphobic), and at a measly 93 metres is the highest point on the Swan Coastal Plain, so it has the best views. The first photo is inland towards the city and second is out to sea to Rottnest Island.

This is from the other nature reserve I used to work at, the more well known Kings Park. They’re both run by the Botanic Gardens and Parks Authority. Kings Park is also up high, and has great views to the Swan River and the city. It’s so beautiful in the twilight.

 

Photobucket

20 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Amber / Dec 20 2010 10:52 pm

    What great skylines!I like the contrast of the water and the cityscape.

  2. Flamingo Dancer / Dec 18 2010 4:57 pm

    Thank you for going outside so that we could see your wonderful photos.

  3. Lauren / Dec 17 2010 1:37 pm

    These are beautiful – glad you had the courage and did them!

  4. Lily / Dec 17 2010 10:01 am

    Your pictures are beautiful. What I find most refreshing is your honesty and your courage! I am so glad you were able to get past the sweaty palms and the tummy in your socks feeling and go outside. What fabulous bravery!! Keep up the good work on both your photography and conquering your fears!

    • Zoe / Dec 17 2010 5:34 pm

      Thank you! What a lovely comment!

  5. Tara / Dec 17 2010 9:37 am

    Beautiful…love the colors….gorgeous

  6. Teresa / Dec 17 2010 8:16 am

    They are beautiful! I’m so glad you did go out so you could share those lovely scenes. Mine is here. http://razzamadazzle.wordpress.com/2010/12/16/winter/

  7. darcy / Dec 17 2010 8:11 am

    the middle pic is so deep colored, reminds me of a rothko painting….

  8. manda63 / Dec 17 2010 6:00 am

    Your last shot is my favorite. I really love the deep blue and purple colors.

  9. Gina / Dec 17 2010 5:26 am

    Simply beautiful!

  10. Rosie@leavesnbloom / Dec 17 2010 4:50 am

    My favourite one is your twilight shot – I never get to take pictures of skylines like this.

  11. Winn / Dec 17 2010 3:51 am

    Some great colors and views going outside. 🙂

  12. Rebekah @ It Only Gets Better / Dec 17 2010 3:07 am

    I am so glad you put your fear aside for a moment and went outside! These are lovely shots! Thank you for sharing them!

  13. Colleen / Dec 17 2010 2:41 am

    Great warm and blue shots! The skyline is pretty cool.

  14. girlsworld / Dec 17 2010 2:12 am

    The colors are amazing!

  15. jmama / Dec 17 2010 2:01 am

    I love the bold blues and purples. I just came inside from a heavy snow here in Virginia. I’m going to try and get my photos up later today.

    Btw, thank you for stopping over earlier today, 🙂

  16. Elaine / Dec 17 2010 1:11 am

    Wow, the water is SO blue in the second one. Pretty!

  17. Jenifer L Higgins / Dec 17 2010 1:00 am

    What an interesting skyline!

  18. Kristy / Dec 16 2010 11:39 pm

    I would love to visit the botanical gardens!

  19. Ashley Sisk / Dec 16 2010 11:33 pm

    These are really lovely. I understand – this time of year especially, I don’t like to go outside.

Leave a Reply

