Skip to content
December 9, 2010 / Zoe

Something Sweet

I took this weeks You Capture theme of ‘sweet’ both literally and figuratively.

Figuratively, my kitties are the sweetest creatures in the world. And I don’t need much of an excuse to post some photos of my cats!

First is Morgan. I don’t think she gets enough face time on this here bloggy. Especially since she’s so sweet and beautiful. Look at those stripes, that spotty belly. She’s the perfect tabby! Her lack of photos might have something to do with the fact that 90% if the time we’re in the same room she’s trying to smooch my hands. Now if only she’d treat all people like that, she’d get adopted in a second.

This is Luna. She and her brother, Norbit, were only here for a couple of days before they were moved to another carer. Firstly, because I don’t have room for 7 cats. No matter how sweet. And because their mother, Temperance, was more than ready to kick them out of the nest, and being stuck in a room with them was making her a little testy towards them. They were sweet little babes though, I hope they find their forever homes soon.

I think cat paws are wonderful. This is a Daisy foot and next are some Temperance feet.

Things that are literally sweet are some of my favourite things in the world. I love to bake, and I especially love to bake spontaneously! Brownie is such an easy thing to make, with the base ingredients of a cup of flour, cup of sugar, a bit of milk, an egg (or a fake egg if you’re of the vegan persuasion) and vegetable oil, you can make any kind you like! I don’t know why anyone would buy brownie in a box.

This week I decided to make a GF vegan peanut and white chocolate brownie. We had no peanut butter though. So ok, I would make a white chocolate and some other kind of nut brownie. No white chocolate (where did that go, anyway? My belly? Oops). And no nuts of any variety. The only chocolate we had was vegan choc chips. So in the spirit of spontaneous baking, I made a Banarownie. That’s a very hard word to say correctly, but it’s worth it. It’s worth making too, it was super tasty.

Here’s my recipe for a Banarownie,

1 cup plain flour (I use Orgran GF Flour).

1 tsp bicarb soda.

1 tsp baking powder.

1/2 cup brown sugar.

1/2 cup raw sugar.

2 Orgran ‘No-eggs’ (Or one actual egg).

1/2 cup oil.

1/2 cup of choc chips.

1/3 cup soy milk.

2 tsp vinegar.

Mix everything together, put in a greased and lined pan, cook in the oven until cooked (about 25 mins at 180° C).

Lots of people ask why I put vinegar in all my baking. Basically, it’s science. Put a little bicarb and a little vinegar and your baked goods will be fluffier because the two mix together and make air bubbles. Fluffiness is something that’s lacking in gluten free baking. If you’re lucky enough to be able to eat wheat flour then you probably don’t need the vinegar and bicarb, but a bit of extra fluffiness won’t go astray! Oh, and don’t add the two at the same time, mix in the bicarb before you add the vinegar, other wise all your science will happen in the bowl, instead of in the brownie. Or the Banarownie.

 

Photobucket

17 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Amiee / Dec 13 2010 3:52 pm

    Just wanted to let you know Zoe, Luna and Norbit are doing great. Luna is particularly smoochy to me and Norbit is a bit of a sook when he doesn’t want to go back into his room. They’re even used to my dog but Sabby my cat (aka Miss Grumbles) still hasn’t warmed to them. Their favourite spot to sleep at the moment is behind the Christmas tree!
    Love that pic of Morgan, she looks so relaxed!

    • Zoe / Dec 14 2010 10:57 am

      I’m glad they’ve settled in well! I wish I could say the same about Miss Temperance! She really needs to be somewhere with less cats, but all I can do is wait for a space to open up! Dana said Norbit was a Mummy’s boy, so maybe that’s why he’s a bit of a sook.

  2. Jessica / Dec 11 2010 4:12 am

    Neat tip with the vinegar. I’ll have to keep that in mind for the next time I make a gluten free recipe.

    By the way, my post for You Capture was about two adorable girls I photographed, but I too have a love for my special feline, Toby, who is so so sweet. I like you love cat paws. I just love cats. I love their spirit, their quietness, that they curl up and make anywhere look cozy.

  3. Amy / Dec 11 2010 3:05 am

    Looks really good! That’s a good tip for baking. I’ll have to add a little vinegar next time I bake something.

  4. Reflections and Renegades / Dec 11 2010 12:14 am

    I think our cat is sweet too. However my husband does not agree. Especially this week when we found a mouse in the house. No worries one trap took care of that. The cats just doesn’t like mice. I told my husband there are some things he doesn’t like. Yeah like that cat.

  5. Lyndsay / Dec 10 2010 10:33 am

    Very sweet little kitty paws!!

  6. Tara / Dec 10 2010 3:42 am

    That brownie looks so good!!! Your kittie are adorable.

  7. Teresa / Dec 10 2010 2:27 am

    Just love the sweet kitties! I have three of my own. I’ll have the brownie pudding recipe posted on my farm blog (just click my icon) tonight.

  8. alitajewel / Dec 10 2010 2:07 am

    I can so relate! I love my cat. He may not be the sweetest (he’s old and grumpy) but I love him… Your cats are just TOO precious.

  9. caren / Dec 10 2010 1:41 am

    Banarownie! (yup, it is hard to say, but so nummy looking!)
    Love that lil tidbit you wrote about vinegar & bicarb – there’s a few recipes where I do that with, but never thought to translate it over to others. My tea biscuit recipe has the V&B combo, so no wonder they’re so fluffy. This information makes me wish I was more scientifically brained.

  10. Colleen / Dec 10 2010 1:40 am

    I love the shot of the kitty paws!

  11. thursday / Dec 10 2010 1:27 am

    Love the kitty photos Zoe!

    Before Jesse left town this week I told him I was excited about all of the naughty things I would get up to while he was gone. He looked at me suspiciously and asked what I had planned (I’m sure he was thinking it involved boys). He was none too pleased when I told him that I was going to get one kitten for Georgia and one kitten for Adelaide. I honestly think he was more upset by the thought of more cats than by the thought of another man. ha!

  12. Ashley Sisk / Dec 9 2010 11:28 pm

    I love your sweet kitties. They definitely deserve more blog time.

  13. Satakieli / Dec 9 2010 11:14 pm

    That brownie looks great. I’ve been trying to hold off on the sweet things lately, I know I’m going to fail.

    And ❤ kitties. I love them and we are totally going to get one (or three, haha) when we are finally settled somewhere. Do you let yours outside? We live in an apartment and I grew up with outdoor cats (well, outdoors catching mice until they wanted something… then they'd come inside) so I'd feel a bit weird about keeping one inside all the time.

    • Zoe / Dec 9 2010 11:20 pm

      I do actually, I’m really passionate about keeping cats inside. And when they’ve been inside their whole live they don’t care at all. We live on a very busy road, so there’s cars, a big dog next door and on a different note, australian birds haven’t evolved with predators like cats, so they’re easily caught. If you read my recent blog called R.I.P Henry you’ll see why I will always keep my girls inside. 😦 Can’t wait to see when you get a kitty!

      • caren / Dec 10 2010 1:43 am

        I, too, have kept all of my cats indoors. None of them were sad about that fact. None of my cats have been wanderers, so were happy backyard kittycats when they wanted a little bit of air. 🙂

  14. Katie / Dec 9 2010 10:59 pm

    I confess – I buy brownie served on a plate in restaurants! Easier but definitely lacking in quantity. Cannot get enough of brownies!

Leave a Reply

