Skip to content
December 6, 2010 / Zoe

Tidying up the craft room.

I had a pretty down week this week. My Mum and brother went home on Tuesday and I spent the next two days in bed eating cake. As of yesterday I hadn’t done any cross stitch for a week. I just felt down. Yesterday I watched an entire season of Gilmore Girls, which if you’ve watch the show you’ll know, isn’t the best thing to watch when you’re missing your Mum.

At least I Morgan was good company.

So after sleeping 14 hours a day for 5 days, with no cross stitch in between, last night I picked up my needle and thread and stitched for 4 hours. It felt good. I felt like me again.

This morning the boy and I decided to tackle the craft/study/music/foster cat room. It had pretty much become a store room which housed a couple of cats with their litter tray. I was not inspired to sew in there. This is what I had;

drawers full of thread and fabric and half finished projects,

shelves full of bags of fabric and unorganised piles,

and a wonderful sewing cabinet I got a freecycle (I know! Amazing!).

I didn’t do a lot but the result was so great. All I really did was fold and organise my fabric, and put all my cotton in the cabinet. It feels nice in the craft/study/music/foster cat room now, it feels like a place I can sew.

I was going to also show you my sewing machine all set up and ready to go, but when I opened up the cabinet Daisy took up residence. It really doesn’t look very comfortable, so I’m fairly sure she was doing to annoy me. Or to ensure she got her face in this blog post, I’m not sure which.

She’s such a diva.

Oh, and I did sew for a few hours this evening, in my nice and organised space. The results of which will be up in my Etsy store soon. And they’re very un-cross stitch related.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Circe / Dec 6 2010 9:32 pm

    this looks really good, I’ve been avoiding my sewing too, I try to tell myself that it’s because I’m out of thread, but I think the disgraceful condition of my living room has a lot to do with it. 🙂

  2. Fiona / Dec 6 2010 10:05 am

    This was really nice to read. Thx for sharing. I love love love your fabric color codes! It’s important to have a nice space to work in. Not that I do 😉

  3. Stefany / Dec 6 2010 7:47 am

    Aw I had a pretty low week this week as well. I just got so overwhelmed with all the work and essays due in at university that I really began to feel miserable. Gilmore girls always cheers me up but I know exactly what you mean, I always feel home sick after watching it haha. Hope this weeks better for you xx

    • Zoe / Dec 6 2010 10:53 am

      Essay time at uni is so stressful, I hope you got everything in order and are feeling better!

  4. mandaray / Dec 6 2010 2:07 am

    Looks nice! I’ve got about five sewing projects I want to get done this month, so I’ve been spending a lot of time organizing my sewing space as well. So far, things are pretty tidy, (I like the way you organize your fabrics by color! I will have to try that once I get more than about five pieces of fabric, lol) though I do need a solution for giving my cutting table more height. Right now I have to hunch over pretty far to cut fabric because I’m a little on the tall side, and it’s killing my back…

    • Zoe / Dec 6 2010 10:44 am

      I hear ya on craft related injuries, I have such a bad case of cross stitch shoulder… I’m only sewing small things at the moment so I don’t have the hunching over problem, I seem to remember my mum on the floor stretching out her back after a long cutting session though, so I’m sure it’s in my future!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Tidying up the craft room. « A Giraffe in a Scarf -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

