Skip to content
December 2, 2010 / Zoe

The sun sets over the ocean.

I grew up in a country bumpkin town in the middle of no where. The ocean was about 200kms away and was south. The sun set over the mountains. Which is also beautiful to see, but when you see it every day the novelty wears off.

I’ve lived on the west coast of Australia, Perth specifically, for nearly 4 years now, and going 10kms to the beach to watch the sun set over the Indian Ocean isn’t a novelty that has worn off yet.

So when my family comes to visit going to see the sun set is a always on the to-do list. Along with going to The Zoo and going to the best Indian Restaurant in Perth, Chutney Mary’s. You’ve seen the zoo HERE and HERE, so here’s the sunset. These are all straight off the camera, they’re just cropped and resized. I had fun playing with the settings to get some cool effects.

I think this is my favourite, even though the others have great colours I think this one looks kind of creepy and eerie.

That’s Rottnest Island you can see, it’s a small island about 2okms off the coast. It’s covered in Quokkas, which are small marsupials, kind of like mini kangaroos. When ‘they’ first discovered the island they thought it was covered in rats and so they named it Rats nest Island. It was changed to Rottnest once they figured out that they sure weren’t rats!

I can’t say I love the beach, in fact, I can’t even say I like the beach in summer (the beach in winter is a whole other story). I hate the hot sun, I hate sand, I hate flies, I hate exposing my skin, so I hate being the only person at the beach in leggings, and I’m not a fan of water. But watching the sunset, it brings one song to my mind…

‘Oh! I do like to be beside the sea side

I do like to be beside the sea.’

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Aussie Emjay / Dec 4 2010 10:21 am

    It would seem strange for me to see the sun set over water ! I’ve always lived to the east so the sun rises over water! 🙂

  2. Ashley Sisk / Dec 2 2010 10:15 pm

    You’ve captured the sunset quite beautifully.

Leave a Reply

