Skip to content
December 2, 2010 / Zoe

Kindred spirits.

Thursday really snuck up on me this week. In fact, you could have quoted me this morning saying, ‘holy crap, what day is it? Not thursday?’

Matt was confused as to why I was so concerned that it was Thursday already. You guys all know why, it’s You capture day! I haven’t shared any photo of my cats for a while, so brace yourself. It’s kitty time.

My girls truly are kindred spirits. They’re not related, but born a year apart, almost to the day. Maisie is a fancy cat from a fancy breeder. Daisy is a rescue cat from a foster carer. They came from different worlds, but my gosh, it’s like they were made for each other. They’ve been in love from day one.

To be honest, I think it’s a bit of a one sided relationship. It’s Daisy who does most of the grooming and snuggling. She’s the one who seeks Maisie out and sidles on up to her. Not that Maisie ever complains. Now that the weather is warming up they don’t snuggle quite so tightly. They will lay next to each other, like in these photos, but there’s a lot less spooning. I will generally find them at least in the same room as each other. Today they were sleeping on opposite arms of the couch, like bookends. I was kicking myself for not having my camera! Of course they moved when I went to get it.

It’s hard to believe they’re nearly the same size now. This was the day we bought Daisy home. Maisie wasn’t sure what to make of her and kept poking her to see what would happen. It was so hilarious.

And in the spirit of kinship, here’s a photo of Maisie’s family. Because she came from a breeder we went to visit her a few times before we could take her home. It happened that the breeder had 3 queens pregnant at the same time, resulting in 15 kittens! It was mad crazy kitten times in that room. I have no idea if any of these kittens are even Maisie, but that’s her Mumma, and those are her siblings and/or cousins! I think they were about 8 weeks old.

Sorry for breaking the rules and including some archived photos, but how could I not!? So sweet.

I also have to opportunity to share a photo of my own kin this week! I only see my family once or twice a year, so a visit from my mum and brother last week was very special. We’re not the kind of family to take photos of each other, I don’t think we’ve ever taken those cliché family photos where someone awkwardly puts their hand on someone else’s shoulder. You know the ones. But waiting for the sun to set last week was the perfect opportunity to try out some silhouette photography with my brother. We tried to spell out A.L.E.X. It didn’t work great, I should have gotten down lower to eliminate the background, or gotten him up higher. Oh well.

And now that you’re in the mood for sunset photos go and look at my blog post from earlier today. I’m very proud of those photos because they’re SOOC. I’m getting better at using manual!

Photobucket

17 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. yestheyareallmine / Dec 5 2010 5:27 am

    I love the first picture of your cats. They look so “in-tune” with each other.

  2. kala / Dec 4 2010 11:00 am

    Awww, such sweet kitties!

  3. Flamingo Dancer / Dec 4 2010 7:12 am

    Since I started holidays I have lost track of the days – the only way I know for sure is when I take one of my medications and it has the day marked on it! One morning I double checked with Mr FD. I am having the best break!

  4. Katie / Dec 4 2010 1:51 am

    Oh, how I wish we could have cats but until we have our own home, that’s probably not going to be an option. A beautiful gray tabby would be just perfect.

  5. Dina @ 4 Lettre Words / Dec 3 2010 7:19 pm

    Those silhouette photos are amazing! And, nothing’s sweeter than a pile of kittens. LOVE these.

  6. Hannah / Dec 3 2010 12:36 pm

    Love it! The silhouettes are amazing but this post makes me want a grey kitten!

  7. Teresa / Dec 3 2010 11:38 am

    Beautiful kitties! I really love the closer shot of the kittens nursing. That is just so cute. Mine is here. http://razzamadazzle.wordpress.com/2010/11/27/defying-instinct/

  8. Melissa / Dec 3 2010 10:05 am

    Beautiful silhouette pictures. Thanks for capturing them for us.

  9. Stefany / Dec 3 2010 7:06 am

    omg I just loved this post 🙂 Couldn’t stop “awwing” and “ahhh-ing” at those cute little kitty cats 🙂

  10. Jenifer L Higgins / Dec 3 2010 6:23 am

    Beautiful! I love the silhoettes!

  11. Susan @ Sunflower Status / Dec 3 2010 12:32 am

    What a sweet post! I love the kitten pictures, and the great silhouettes!

  12. Colleen / Dec 2 2010 11:55 pm

    I love the nursing kitties photos. They’re so sweet. Also, your silhouette pics are great. I haven’t really tried any silhouettes yet. I took a quick peek at your other post with all the sunset shots. Gorgeous! (although my first thought at seeing the people in the water was “shark bait! shark bait!”)
    🙂

  13. Brooke G / Dec 2 2010 11:50 pm

    How cute are those kitties 😀 Love it! And the silhouettes are priceless – hee!

  14. Ashley Sisk / Dec 2 2010 11:08 pm

    LOVE IT – I should have taken a picture of me and my cat – we are kindred spirits. This is great!

  15. Sheri / Dec 2 2010 11:04 pm

    Lovin’ the silhouette…but oh oh oh!! So in love with those kitties! I’ll have to show my girl if she ever wakes up! Too sweet!

  16. Jade @ Tasting Grace / Dec 2 2010 11:04 pm

    Love the silhouettes!

  17. sarah / Dec 2 2010 11:00 pm

    The cats are so adorable! I love the silhouette pictures! So cool!

Leave a Reply

