Skip to content
November 28, 2010 / Zoe

Scavenger Hunt Sunday – Zoo Edition

All my photos are from the Perth Zoo this week. I also did an alphabet scavenger hunt which I posted HERE. I inadvertently posted it on Thanksgiving so it didn’t get the recognition it deserves, so go and look at it too! Lots of interesting Aussie animals!

Black and white.

I didn’t want to just go with the obvious Zebra for black and white, so I also included a cute little Tassie Devil. I find Tasmanian Devils very endearing, they’re a bit rough around the edges and a little vicious, but I think they’re very sweet.

I ate this…

We ate wedges at the Zoo. I like the sun flare I managed to capture, it makes the look a bit heavenly.

Historic.

A big ol’ Galapagos tortoise. Historic because they live for up to 150 years and because they played an important role in forming Charles Darwin’s Theory of Evolution. Darwin visited the Galapagos Islands and noticed that the tortoises were different on each island, which helped him work it all out. As well as the different beaks of finches.

Off-Centre.

Not a great photo and not what was meant by off-centre, but I had to share this beautiful macaw, because he is most definitely off-centre! Any tips on taking photos through wire? I spent a long time photographing this guy and none of them came out great.

The End.

Well this photo speaks for itself. We had just given up trying to photograph an elephant who wouldn’t come out from behind a tree and were walking to the next exhibit. Just as we came around a corner so did an elephant! I quickly snapped all the photos I could, but this is the best one. I think it’s fantastic that they take their elephants for walks every day, it’s great for the elephants and great for the zoo goers too!

29 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Katie L. / Dec 2 2010 5:24 am

    Those are great, but my fav is ‘the end’ – it made me lol! 🙂

  2. AJ / Nov 30 2010 9:33 pm

    What a beautiful post…so much fun and so creative. Love the first one, the zebra, briljant pick!

  3. Marci / Nov 30 2010 8:53 pm

    Your interpretations of the words was great! Love all the animal pics..and ofcourse, the end shot was so clever!

  4. jenn / Nov 30 2010 3:57 am

    love the zebra and elephant bottoms !! too funny!

  5. Dina @ 4 Lettre Words / Nov 30 2010 3:18 am

    LOVE your take on historic! Brilliant.

  6. Charlene / Nov 29 2010 11:44 pm

    Animal photographs are always so great to look at. I love your End shot best!

  7. Flamingo Dancer / Nov 29 2010 5:11 pm

    Wonderful photographs – love the zebra most!

  8. angela dunn / Nov 29 2010 1:11 pm

    What a wonderful series of shots. Well done.The elephant is my favourite.

  9. Linda / Nov 29 2010 8:20 am

    I love these shots.. What a great idea. That last shot brought a big smile to my face.

    Thanks so much for visiting my blog and leaving me such a kind comment.
    I really do appreciate it.

  10. pieces of me / Nov 29 2010 7:20 am

    you were so close, very cool~

  11. Linda / Nov 29 2010 7:10 am

    These are all such great shots. I love the zebra’s and The End shot is perfect! brought a smile to my face. Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving such a sweet comment on my blog..
    Hope you are having a happy day!

    Hugs, Linda

  12. alitajewel / Nov 29 2010 4:49 am

    Your zoo interpretations are fantastic. What a great take on this week’s hunt!

  13. Jessi / Nov 29 2010 1:18 am

    LOVE!!! The End shot made me LOL for real!

  14. Emily / Nov 29 2010 12:40 am

    Love the picture of the bird, the colors are great

  15. Sheri / Nov 28 2010 10:09 pm

    Love your “The end” shot! Made me smile.

  16. Dorothy / Nov 28 2010 9:36 pm

    Fun pictures! THE END is my favorite!

  17. Austin-Lee / Nov 28 2010 9:09 pm

    Great shots! I’d love some potato wedges about now.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/envoutant/sets/72157624857744727/

  18. Rosie@leavesnbloom / Nov 28 2010 7:12 pm

    lol I gotta say that last shot is my favourite. It was really nice to see your zoo pics especially of that tasmanian devil – up until now I had only seen one of those as a cartoon character! and that turtle shell just looks so pretty.

  19. Jill Conyers / Nov 28 2010 6:52 pm

    A zoo theme this week. Love it. The End is my favorite.

    Having problems commenting so this may be a duplicate. Sorry.

  20. Jill Conyers / Nov 28 2010 6:51 pm

    A great day at the zoo. The End shot made me laugh. Elephants can be stubborn when it comes to having their pic taken.

  21. ironyonhighheels / Nov 28 2010 4:50 pm

    Damn, I haven’t been to the zoo for ages. And I haven’t really thought about going either. Now I want to. Though the closest I can come something that resembles a zoo is 300 km away. And since I am spoiled …. the keyword is resemble.
    I don’t think your picture of the macaw is so much off center, just because the bird isn’t dead center of the picture. This way you also captured a lot of his beautiful tail feathers. If it weren’t for the wire (which probably made it hard for the camera to focus on the bird) this is a nice picture.

    • Zoe / Nov 28 2010 5:12 pm

      I was so annoyed with that wire! I could have gotten some wonderful up-side down macaw photos if it has bigger holes. *sigh* I guess they’re protecting curious fingers from curious beaks.

  22. Phoenix Peacock / Nov 28 2010 4:43 pm

    Your The End cracked me up. loved the zoo theme!

  23. Theresa_w / Nov 28 2010 4:31 pm

    Some great shots here, I am obsessed with the zoo!
    Any giraffe shots, or will there be a whole post for that lol 🙂
    Love you shots, “the end” is funny!

  24. Michelle / Nov 28 2010 3:41 pm

    Oh I LOVE Perth zoo! We haven’t been there in 7 years though 😦 All great shots, love the zebra and Elephant 😀

  25. Nathalie / Nov 28 2010 3:30 pm

    Your photos are great! I love the tazzie devil, it looks cute.

    If you have time, do visit me at:
    http://halie-photohunts.blogspot.com/2010/11/scavenger-hunt-sunday-8.html

  26. Buckeroomama / Nov 28 2010 2:00 pm

    LOL!!! I LOVE your “The End” photo! Perfect! 🙂

  27. Susan / Nov 28 2010 12:35 pm

    What great photos. I LOVE the elephant photo, and the swishing tail. What a fun trip to the zoo!

  28. Ashley Sisk / Nov 28 2010 12:11 pm

    You are too funny – I love that this week’s edition comes to use from the zoo. The last photo makes me laugh!

Leave a Reply

