Skip to content
November 27, 2010 / Zoe

Cake cake cake

I tried making this cake a couple of weeks ago, except of course I make it vegan and gluten free. It all fell apart and I threw a 3yo style tantrum, it looked nothing like My Girl Thursday’s did. Yesterday I made the same cake, the same way and it worked perfectly! I wanted bright pink icing because I was feeling pink but the icing was actually orange flavoured, so it was a jaffa cake.

Soooo good.

I wasn’t patient enough to let the cake cool completely, so the frosting in the centre went all gooey and lovely. I picked up that gorgeous plate at an op-shop yesterday. Op-shopping is what Aussies call thrifting. I kind of like the term thrifting better, so I should probably move to North America. Op-shop is short for Opportunity Shop if you were wondering.

Look at that oozing icing. I haven’t had breakfast yet, and I think you know what I’ll be having. It’s Saturday, cake for breakfast is totally acceptable.

Yep, that’s a good cake. To make it vegan and GF all I did was use Orgran GF flour, Orgran ‘No-egg’ and to make the ‘buttermilk’ I added a little bit of vinegar to soy milk and let it sit for a little while. Too easy. My pantry looks like an Orgran warehouse, I love that company so very much.

 

I’m linking this up to You Capture for ‘I ate this.’ I’m a little bit late, but it seems with Thanksgiving so is everyone else!

 

Photobucket

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Donaji / Dec 5 2010 8:51 am

    I haven’t had cake in a looooooong time, what have you done? I want to run to the store right this second and duplicate that delicious chocolate pleasure! oh my…that looks SO good!

    • Zoe / Dec 5 2010 10:09 am

      Well I’m very happy to spread the cake love! Post pictures if you do get your bake on!

  2. manda63 / Nov 28 2010 11:55 am

    Oooh! I love the gooey icing just oozing out of that cake! It looks delicious.

  3. Katy Stone / Nov 27 2010 11:10 pm

    Yum! I love how vibrant the icing is. 🙂

  4. ironyonhighheels / Nov 27 2010 3:46 pm

    De-licious! If I bring my cup of coffee can I come too? 😀
    I find it interesting that the pink frosting tastes orange. I would have thought of almost everything else lol.

    • Zoe / Nov 27 2010 7:54 pm

      If you’re providing the coffee you’re more than welcome!

  5. Corrie / Nov 27 2010 3:23 pm

    I would definitely join you in eating cake for breakfast! Having the inside a little gooey is the only way to go… looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

