Skip to content
November 25, 2010 / Zoe

A-Z of the Zoo

My little brother Alex and I decided to give ourselves the challenge of finding an alphabet of zoo goodness when we went to the Perth Zoo yesterday. They’re not all animals, I did have to resort to a few plants and other things, and some of these photos are quite bad, some of them because of the wires or glass, some because I didn’t adjust my camera settings properly, and some because the animal wouldn’t come out from behind a bush so all you can see is the head and there’s nothing else that starts with Q but a Quokka.

Actually, that’s a lie, there was a Quoll too, but it was in the nocturnal exhibit so photos were out of the question, at least with my pretty average camera. The nocturnal exhibit at the Perth Zoo is amazing though, once your eyes adjust it’s so fun to try to pick out the animal, by being patient we saw nearly every one. Even the Slow Loris, which I’d hadn’t spotted before.

There’s a fair few interesting Australian animals in the mix, so international readers might enjoy that.

Anyway, on with the alphabet! Get your scrolling finger ready!

A is for…

African wild dog.

 

B is for…

Brolga.

 

C is for…

Cassowary.

 

D is for…

Dingo.

 

E is for…

Elephant.

 

F is for…

Fig tree.

 

G is for…

Galapagos Tortoise.

 

H is for…

Hyena.

 

I is for…

Island.

 

J is for…

Jabiru.

 

K is for…

Kangaroo.

 

L is for…

Lioness.

 

M is for…

Meerkat.

 

N is for…

Numbat.

 

O is for…

Orangutan.

 

P is for…

Parrot. (Or macaw.)

 

Q is for…

Quokka.

 

R is for…

Rhino.

 

S is for…

Sun bear.

 

T is for…

Tree Kangaroo.

(Yes interantional readers, many years ago kangaroos came down from the tress to live on the plains. And then these guys went back up again.)

 

U is for…

Ungulates.

 

V is for…

Violets.

 

W is for…

Wedges.

 

X is for…

Xanthorrhoea.

 

Y is for…

Yellow crowned amazons.

 

And Z is for…

Zebra.

The end.


9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Aussie Emjay / Nov 27 2010 10:55 am

    What a wonderful idea! I really enjoyed seeing the Aussie animals most of all. The zoo here in DC is quite nice but it is coming into winter now and not so nice (for me anyway) to be walking around.

  2. Lucie / Nov 27 2010 7:33 am

    Looks like you had a good day, I love the photo of the sun bears going in opposite directions!

    • Zoe / Nov 27 2010 7:53 pm

      We got there just when they were expecting their afternoon snack, so they were pacing up and down. Pity about the smudges on the glass!

  3. austin / Nov 27 2010 12:42 am

    wow…thats pretty impressive!

  4. Circe / Nov 26 2010 12:57 am

    I haven’t been to the zoo since I was 5, I should try to get back there. I love these nice, sunny pictures!

    • Zoe / Nov 26 2010 7:22 pm

      I think I enjoy it more now than when I was a kid, now I take my time and actually sit and watch the animals, we spent nearly 7 hours there but most of it was just sitting and watching.

  5. Penelope / Nov 25 2010 11:31 pm

    Great pictures – I love the meerkat! Looks like a really fun day. I drag my husband to the zoo (Toronto Zoo) about once a year; it’s one of my favourite outings.

    • Zoe / Nov 26 2010 7:21 pm

      My boyfriend isn’t very keen, but my family visits at least once a year and it always warrants a zoo trip! It’s such a great day out!

Trackbacks

  1. Scavenger Hunt Sunday – Zoo Edition « A Giraffe in a Scarf

Leave a Reply

