Skip to content
November 18, 2010 / Zoe

The pillow monster

Something weird is happening in our house.

On Tuesday night I tagged along on Matt’s paper delivery, so we both crawled into bed at 6AM. At that stage we had two ergonomic foam pillows. Well, two ergonomic foam pillows and two huge European pillows because hell, those ergonomic foam pillows are damn uncomfortable.

When we got up at 12 we had one ergonomic foam pillow.  I didn’t really think much of it, I figured it was on the floor somewhere, underneath our 17 duvets which we clearly don’t need because it’s a thousand degrees in our house.

I joked that wouldn’t it be funny if the pillow was outside! Hee hee, ha ha, we both laughed. Yes. It would be funny…

So when Matt went to take the rubbish out and there was a pillow neatly sitting on the back steps we both hee hee’d, and ha ha’d.

And then I really started to think about it. What on earth was he doing? To our knowledge he’d never sleep walked before, he hardly even remembers his dreams!

So now? We’re both a little freaked out. Because that’s weird, right? How far did he go? How long was he out there? Is he a neighbourhood flasher and he doesn’t even know it? Does he roam the streets taking pillows and neatly placing them on back steps?

It did occur to me that when we got home that morning I did say that we should sleep outside, because it’s nice and cool at that time of the morning and I knew it would be a lot warmer in our bedroom. Maybe he took my suggestion literally? Needless to say, when he went to sleep this morning I suggested he stay up all morning and do the dishes. Fingers crossed.

And at least this mystery is solved.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lucie / Nov 22 2010 8:18 am

    How do you know that it is Matt sleep walking and not you? I seem to remember some pretty bizarre things you did in your sleep when we were teenagers. Like pressing all the buttons on my CD player… and climbing on the garage roof…

  2. ironyonhighheels / Nov 19 2010 2:10 am

    LOL I am sure, if that is something that would have happened to me, I would never ever go to bed again without wearing a pyjama that somewhat allows moving outside. No sexy see – through nighties.

    • Zoe / Nov 19 2010 3:07 am

      Haha, I’ll tell Matt to stay out of the sexy see through nighties! 😉

  3. Buckeroomama / Nov 18 2010 1:52 pm

    LOL! It`s like hypnotizing him while he`s awake and hoping that he would do as you suggest when he`s sleepwalking! =)

    • Zoe / Nov 18 2010 6:21 pm

      If I can get it down to a science I’ll be thrilled! And living in a much cleaner house! 😉

  4. CJ / Nov 18 2010 9:16 am

    Freaky!! I know one person who took sleep walking so far that she had to put her house keys in a bucket of cold water when she went to bed, so she would wake up if she tried to go out. Good luck getting dishes done 🙂

    • Zoe / Nov 18 2010 6:20 pm

      Wow, that’s crazy sleepwalking! I hope it doesn’t come to that! No dishes were done, unfortunately, not by him anyway.

Leave a Reply

