Skip to content
November 4, 2010 / Zoe

Silence is golden.

This week I really tried to get out for a walk every day. But the weather forecast for yesterday was 37°C (99°F) and I’m not keen on hot weather. So I did something I haven’t done in a long time. I jumped out of bed early and went for a walk. When I stepped out into the cool fresh morning air I took a deep breath. The word that ran through my head was silence.

And then I ran inside and grabbed my camera, because the You Capture theme this week is silence.

It amazed me how light it is at 7AM. I think it’s a good argument for day light savings, I had it my whole childhood, so it’s just weird for me to have the sun come up at 5.30AM. It also amazed me how peaceful it was. The only other people out were joggers. I’m certainly no jogger so I felt a little outnumbered, but it was still lovely. My suburb has beautiful tree lined streets.

My other idea for silence was the saying about how if you have children and there’s silence; there’s trouble. Except I don’t have children yet. All I have is my cats. And when they’re silent there’s no trouble. Silence means it’s communal nap time.

Zelda the foster on the floor at my feet.

My girls were harder to find.

Maisie was behind the front door. The door was open to let in the breeze and have a shelf there where we keep our shopping bags and hang coats, so it’s a pretty tight spot, perfect for a kitty.

I knew exactly where Daisy would be. In her favourite afternoon nap spot, inside the wardrobe. I have no idea what the look on her face is about. I think she’s just pissed I came and stuck a camera in her face.

I think we could learn something from cats. Every afternoon, when the sun hits the back windows, my house goes silent. Every one finds a spot and settles down for a snooze. Sometimes together. Sometimes scattered around the house. I think this is the time when I should settle down too. Not necessarily to a nap, I’m trying to fix my sleeping patterns, but with a cup of tea. And a cookie.

Photobucket

13 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. manda63 / Nov 6 2010 1:28 am

    I really love your second photo, the one of the sidewalk with the trees making a path – beautiful. Although, I’m pretty partial to kitty photos too. 🙂 Yeah, I think we can learn something from them.

  2. Jaime / Nov 5 2010 10:19 am

    I love your silent photos – especially your kitties. Cat naps are the best!

  3. Donaji / Nov 5 2010 10:18 am

    What a lovely morning for a walk! You kiddies make me wanna snooze myself 😉 great choices for “silence”.

  4. Ashley @ Ramblings and Photos / Nov 5 2010 9:07 am

    I need to go out for a walk…that first photo is so beautiful. I love the light.

  5. CJ / Nov 5 2010 1:26 am

    Beautiful pictures – gives a whole new meaning to “Golden Silence” 🙂 And your cats are cute, as usual.

  6. Lauren / Nov 5 2010 1:02 am

    I’m never up at this hour, haha. But, your photos are beautiful and kinda almost sorta make me want to get up then. 😉

  7. yestheyareallmine / Nov 5 2010 12:23 am

    Early morning walks are fantastic. I find the ones in the evening are not nearly as silent or peaceful. There are a lot more people, dogs and noise! LOL

  8. buttercup caren / Nov 5 2010 12:13 am

    The early morning walks are my favourite! I don’t do it often enough (okay, only a handful of times this year…) – the silence, the brightness, the thoughtfulness of early mornings are a beautiful thing. It’s a luxury.
    And I agree with you about learning from our cats. There are cultures where afternoon siestas are a part of life … sometimes I think I live in the wrong part of the world! 😉

  9. Jenna / Nov 4 2010 11:57 pm

    Great pictures! And precious cats . . . but where do you live that boasts 99F in November!?!? I guess I need to read your “about” page . . . =)

  10. Jenifer L Higgins / Nov 4 2010 11:31 pm

    I love that first shot!

  11. Amy @ Cheeky Cocoa Beans / Nov 4 2010 11:16 pm

    Gorgeous photos of your walk. I particularly love the tree-lined street shot. Very peaceful! I’m glad you got your walk in!

  12. AndMilesToGo / Nov 4 2010 10:55 pm

    I love getting up early before everyone else does. I should try taking my camera for a walk. Beautiful captures–love the first one.

  13. SunshineFields / Nov 4 2010 10:32 pm

    The photos of your walk outside make me want to get up and take a walk myself. There is something incredibly peaceful about being up in the morning before everyone else.

Leave a Reply

