Skip to content
October 27, 2010 / Zoe

Milk and cookies.

I think I’ve perfected my vegan gluten free cookie recipe. I made them for Matt yesterday, he’s on his last week of writing his thesis so I thought he needed a treat, and he liked them so much he had me in the kitchen again today. Right where I belong, amiright? Matt’s the vegan in the house and I don’t drink much milk, but we had some in the house from when Matt’s family were visiting on the weekend, so it was the perfect opportunity to indulge in some milk and cookies.

Sugar overload.

As with all my recipes they’re vegan and gluten free, but you can substitute in the real stuff if you wish!

Peanut butter and choc chip cookies.

125g margarine.

3/4 cup brown sugar.

1/4 cup raw sugar.

1 3/4 cups gluten free flour (orgran).

1 egg substitute (orgran ‘no-egg’).

2 tsp baking powder (only one if you’re using plain wheat flour).

1/2 tsp baking soda.

Tbsp apple cider vinegar.

1 tsp cinnamon.

pinch of salt.

1/2 cup peanut butter.

100g choc chips.

Splash of soy milk.

Cream the margarine and sugar together, then mix in everything else. Add only just enough soy milk to bring the mix together, you probably won’t need it if you use a real egg. Roll into teaspoon sized balls and bake at 190 degrees Celsius for 12-15 minutes. They’ll be soft when you take them out of the oven so leave them for a couple of minutes then transfer them to a cooling rack. Try not to eat too many, but make you sure you grab a couple straight out of the oven, so gooey and good!

Now it’s time for some more milk and cookies me thinks! Not too many though, Daisy is watching. And judging.

 

 

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sophie / Nov 1 2010 1:50 am

    MMMMMM,..your gf cookies look so delectable, Zoe!!

    You also have a COOl blog!

    many greetings from a recent gf foodie from Brussels, Belgium!

  2. Lauren / Oct 28 2010 1:28 pm

    I have awarded you with the Versatile Blogger Award, have fun with it. 🙂

    http://ohlauren.com/2010/10/28/versatile-blogger-award/

  3. mandaray / Oct 27 2010 11:38 pm

    I feel judged. O_O

    Also, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a cookie recipe that involved vinegar of some type. I find the idea quite intriguing. What made you decide to add some?

    • Zoe / Oct 28 2010 9:31 am

      I’m not sure if it’s the lack of egg or the lack of gluten, but my baking used to always be a bit flat, so by adding bi-carb and vinegar it makes the cookies a bit lighter in the middle. They react together and make air bubbles, science in the kitchen!

      • Zoe MacLean / Oct 28 2010 9:35 am

        We always put bicarb and vinegar in our pancakes, it makes them super fluffy

      • Zoe / Oct 28 2010 11:48 am

        Yeah, it’s a handy little trick!

  4. Ashley Sisk / Oct 27 2010 11:35 pm

    Milk and cookies are my favorite! YUM!

  5. Zoe MacLean / Oct 27 2010 8:31 pm

    These look delicious! When I buy some no-egg I’m going to give these a try! I’m a vegan and I currently only have one good cookie recipe on hand. Banana Choc-chip, it’s here: ( http://zoemaclean.wordpress.com/2010/01/20/vegan-choc-chip-banana-cookies/ ) if you want to have a look.

    And I was just about to eat another one (I baked a batch this arvo) but Daisy persuaded me not to … 🙂

    • Zoe / Oct 28 2010 9:29 am

      Don’t listen to Daisy, she’s just jealous that she gets no cookies.

  6. Tes / Oct 27 2010 5:28 pm

    Peanut butter and chocolate chip cookies is one of my favourite cookies. I will definitely have to try your version. A splash of soy milk seems interesting in the recipe. Really love it. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

