Skip to content
October 17, 2010 / Zoe

The new babies.

Tonight I bought home my new babies, three little Guinea piggles! I had Guinea pigs my whole childhood and I’ve always felt odd without them since moving out of home. I wanted to get some from a rescue but I couldn’t find any in my state so I looked around to find a good breeder that I was comfortable with and I placed a hold on three little girls. The breeder only mates the girls once or twice a year and they’re well handled and healthy.

I got to name the cats so I tentatively let Matt name the babies this time. I’m very happy with the results. Matt is doing his honours in philosophy, so he named them after philosophers.

I have Miss Gertrude Elizabeth Margaret Anscombe, Philippa Ruth Foot and Iris Murdoch. I think I will profile the namesakes in the next few days. I find it highly amusing that my trio of daft little creatures are named after some super smart ladies. No offence to all the piggles out there, but they’re not the smartest of animals. Gorgeous, yes. Endearing, yes. Intelligent, no.

I apologise for the bad photos, we got home after dark and they were all very scared so I didn’t want to use a flash.

This little silver agouti is Philippa.

And this golden agouti is Gertrude, when Guinea pigs get scared they pile on top of each other and Gertrude seems to be the most timid at the moment. The self white underneath Gertrude is Iris, she has a lovely textural rex coat, and the breeder said that she might end up having seal points which would be cool, you can see a bit of colour on her nose and ears but it should darken with age.

Gertrude and Philippa are sisters and are 5 weeks old, and Iris is about 6 weeks.

There’s a monkey in the background of that one!

What a perfect trio. I love my squiggle piggles.

 

 

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Circe / Oct 19 2010 7:56 pm

    super cute, congrats

  2. Clare B / Oct 18 2010 3:42 pm

    Gert, Pip and Iris – great names for little guinea pigs. Hope they’ll manage to get along okay with the cats.

    • Zoe / Oct 18 2010 5:55 pm

      The felines and rodents will mostly run in separate circles, so it should be fine.

  3. Lauren / Oct 18 2010 11:14 am

    omg, so cute!!!

  4. fabi / Oct 18 2010 9:07 am

    Rodents + cats are pretty ‘interesting’ situation. Are they going to ‘socialize’? The cats at home have learnt to ‘respect’ a bird but it is in a cage.

    • Zoe / Oct 18 2010 5:40 pm

      Well the cats and guinea pigs will never be left together, and when the piggles are inside I’ll always be holding them. I grew up with guinea pigs and cats and the cats were never even interested in them. Maisie gave Iris a sniff today and just gave me a look of total disdain, I think she thinks they’re more gross than something for dinner.

  5. Style Attic / Oct 18 2010 8:46 am

    Cute, cute, cute!!!

  6. Ashley @ Ramblings and Photos / Oct 18 2010 5:12 am

    Oh my! They are too cute!

  7. teapotchronicles / Oct 18 2010 12:26 am

    Egads. I’ve never understood rodents as pets. But I suppose there are folks who have never understood dogs as pets. :oP Enjoy your new family members! 🙂

  8. buttercup caren / Oct 17 2010 11:57 pm

    You have a household full of little critters! This makes me squeal with giddiness, as only a squiggle piggle could do!

  9. mandaray / Oct 17 2010 11:24 pm

    How adorable! =D

Trackbacks

  1. Etsy Spotlight – Poor dog farm. « A Giraffe in a Scarf

Leave a Reply

