Skip to content
October 10, 2010 / Zoe

On the hunt

I’m kinda excited about these photos, for the first time I took all the Scavenger Hunt photos in the week of the challenge, I usually end up with one archived photo, and for the first time I took them all on manual! I still haven’t figured it all out, I find myself clicking the numbers up and down trying to get it right, and I’ve taken an awful lot of too dark photos. Now I desperately want a new camera more than ever, it’s quite dark in our house and my cats are inside cats and they don’t stay still much, so I either end up with a super dark photo with a high shutter speed, or a blurry photo with good light.

Pink.

Sweet little Zelda, I nearly wrote ‘my’ sweet little Zelda. I must repeat to myself every day, ‘she is not mine, she is a foster, she is not mine!’

 

Books.

I’m pretty happy with how this one came out, I think it’s because I took SO many photos of books before I finally come up with this. And I made it overexposed on manual. I’m learning!

 

Spring Colours.

The Scavenger Hunt theme was Fall Colours, but I changed it to Spring. Because here it is spring! Lovely spring. I hope that’s ok Ashley! This is a flower on one of my thyme plants.

 

Leaf.

I’m not super happy with this one, but I like the shadow. The leaves are from the Silver Princess in my front yard.

 

Orange.

These little orange terracotta people are from a set of 6. I can’t remember where they were made, somewhere in South America I think. Unfortunately four of them were lost in the Great Cat Attack of 2010. But what I love is that the two I have left are a boy with a guitar, just like Matt, and a girl with avocado, just like me!

I can’t wait for next week!

 

26 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. charmaine / Oct 14 2010 8:33 pm

    Love your book shot!!!!

  2. angela Dunn / Oct 11 2010 2:21 pm

    Love your kitty shot, well done

  3. Kimberly Mueller / Oct 11 2010 1:02 pm

    Your terra cotta people are so cute… I really like the unique perspective on the book shot!

  4. Kamalika / Oct 11 2010 9:12 am

    All snaps are grt…but loved the book one most…

  5. Lindsay L. / Oct 11 2010 7:08 am

    Love the terracotta people…they are so cool!

  6. Gina / Oct 11 2010 6:48 am

    Love the book shot and the terracotta people

  7. liz / Oct 11 2010 3:23 am

    Love the kitty shot. all are very nice.

  8. Tara / Oct 10 2010 11:11 pm

    Love the book and leaf shots!

  9. Jill / Oct 10 2010 11:08 pm

    Great shots for the week! That kitten is adorable!!!

  10. tripps / Oct 10 2010 11:04 pm

    great cat attack…that made me lol. i love the book shot!

  11. Sheri / Oct 10 2010 10:05 pm

    Great shots, and now we want a kitten!

  12. Hannah / Oct 10 2010 9:59 pm

    The book shot is very neat…Lovely entries! And congrats on manual mode! Whoo-hoo!

  13. Amber Cullum / Oct 10 2010 9:31 pm

    I love the book photo!!!!

    Yay for manual. I have been using manual ONLY the last few weeks, as well

  14. Linda / Oct 10 2010 9:19 pm

    WOW.. These are some great shots.. I just loooove your book shot..

  15. Sarah / Oct 10 2010 9:00 pm

    YAY for manual! Keep it up! It takes time, but so worth it. Great photos this week.

  16. Ashley @ Ramblings and Photos / Oct 10 2010 8:37 pm

    NIcely done and I’m excited that you’re moving to manual! I like how you took the interpretation for fall and turned it to spring – I can be excited that it’s spring where you live! Hope you have a great day…I mean night!

  17. Dorothy / Oct 10 2010 8:10 pm

    You are a very creative photographer!! Love the books shot! All are very nice!

  18. Austin-Lee / Oct 10 2010 8:09 pm

    Great shots…what a cute kitty! Have a great sunday!

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/envoutant/sets/72157624857744727/

  19. Lydia. / Oct 10 2010 7:42 pm

    such cute photos!
    i love the little kitty.
    fostering can be tough, though.
    but i definitely respect you for doing it! 🙂

    xo.

  20. Style Attic / Oct 10 2010 7:15 pm

    Great manual work. It does take extra effort, but totally worth it 🙂 I’m loving kitty…I’m kinda biased cuz I have the same cutie!

  21. Betty Jo / Oct 10 2010 6:22 pm

    Love your work, especially the perspective on the book! Love your illustrations too!

  22. Shell / Oct 10 2010 5:22 pm

    Love your book shot! (and I’m an Aussie too =D)

  23. Clare B / Oct 10 2010 5:05 pm

    The book shot has such an interesting angle and I really like the leaf shot. You’ve capture really interesting compositions this week.

  24. Buckeroomama / Oct 10 2010 4:58 pm

    I love your Spring Colours! 🙂

    Your blog template is really lovely! I love the watercolor drawing of the giraffe with the scarf.

  25. Theresa_w / Oct 10 2010 4:42 pm

    Great shots, the kitten one is my favorite. I had the same problem when I started shooting in all manual too everything was super dark. It gets easier and my photos are so much better for it too! Can’t wait to see more!

  26. Ana / Oct 10 2010 3:07 pm

    I love your PINK shot! Beautiful little kitty 🙂 And your BOOK shot drew me in. Love it–it’s fascinating to me!

Leave a Reply

