Skip to content
October 9, 2010 / Zoe

Serious brownies

I’m not serious about much, but I’m serious about brownie.

I’m talking serious chunks, serious goo in the middle, serious crust on the outside, serious portions and seriously served warm with strawberries and ice-cream.

Yeah. That’s a serious brownie.

I’ve never much been one for recipes when making baked goods. Unless I’m trying something new I generally just mix stuff together until the consistency is right. And miraculously 9/10 times it works. So I had to actually measure stuff while I made this one so I could share the recipe! Vegan and gluten free! Of course if you are one or the other or neither you can substitute in whatever you like. I firmly believe that the mix should be at least 50% chunks, AL LEAST. Go chunkier if you want, everyone knows that’s the best bit.

Gluten Free Vegan White Chocolate and Macadamia Brownie.

1 cup flour (GF Orgran)

1 cup raw sugar

2 tsp baking powder (1 if using ‘real’ flour)

pinch of salt

1.5 egg replacers made up with water (Orgran No-egg)

0.5 cup cocoa

0.25 cup veg oil

1 cup soy milk

100g chopped macadamias

100g white choc chunks (Sweet William)

Mix everything a bowl. Make sure you taste the batter before putting it in the lined and greased 20x20cm tin. Vital step. Seriously, you might have forgotten the sugar.

Cook it in the oven until it’s cooked (that’s what all my hand written recipes say). I would guess it was about 30 minutes at 190 degrees Celsius, but if it smells cooked take it out, brownie is forgiving.

Cover it with fruit so it feels healthy. Then cover it with (soy) ice-cream so it feels like dessert.

Nom!

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. thalia / Jan 8 2011 11:32 pm

    YES!!! those look delicious!!!!! i’m totally going to try these the next time brownie madness strikes!

  2. Circe / Oct 13 2010 3:56 am

    I love how you cover it with fruit to make it feel healthy, that’s my kind of diet! But seriously, this looks seriously delicious!

  3. Carly / Oct 11 2010 12:57 am

    Oh my. These look incredible! Can’t wait to test the recipe!

    XO
    Carly

    All this is Grace and Charm
    http://allthisgraceandcharm.blogspot.com

  4. kala / Oct 9 2010 7:45 pm

    Yum, you had me at macadamias 🙂

  5. Parsifal / Oct 9 2010 11:09 am

    Very NICE!

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Parsifal

  6. mandaray / Oct 9 2010 10:28 am

    OMFG. That looks so good!!! (Truly, not enough exclamation points for that pic.) I will definitely have to try and make a sugar free version of that.

    • Zoe / Oct 9 2010 2:11 pm

      Oh but how do you live without sugar! 😉 JK. I don’t have any experience with sugar free, let me know how you go!

Leave a Reply

