Skip to content
October 5, 2010 / Zoe

Eggplant is for lovers.

I actually had a semi-productive day today, which was something different to my usual routine. It’s going to sound pathetic to those people with a normal energy level and average motivation, but for ME, it was a good day. I made this little beauty from start to finish. It’s about 2.5 cm long, and took a couple of hours. I know anyone who doesn’t cross stitch will wonder how it took me that long, but take it from me, cross stitch is a slow and meticulous process. If you try to rush it you’ll end up spending more time unpicking than you do stitching.

I also did a pile of dishes, cleaned the litter trays and went outside TWICE. Once to get the mail and again to do some weeding and water the vegies. I haven’t really written about my agoraphobia here, but that’s a big deal for me. Again, sounds pathetic, but it’s about what’s difficult for ME.

Speaking of the vegie patch, we finally used some broad beans in our dinner last night. Matt wasn’t going to peel them, but I wanted to. I highly recommend taking off the tough outer layer, they taste better, and look at that colour! I didn’t touch it up at all.

Matt put them into the Mock Chicken Kapitan he made. It was too spicy for me, but still delicious. I think us having such different tolerances for spicy food is an endless frustration for him, since he does a majority of the cooking. I’ve much improved since moving in with him though, mild salsa used to make me cry. Now I can eat medium. Matt, on the other hand, eats jalapenos straight from the jar with some bread and hommus. I would die. Anyway, here’s dinner!

I also tried to get a photo of Daisy sleeping today, we’ve started calling her Fang because when she sleeps one of her teeth hangs out a little. But when I went to click she yawned, so she’s showing off more fang than I intended! It’s a shame she moved her foot at just the wrong moment, I would have liked to snap her tongue.

Here’s to another productive day tomorrow!

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. elycia / Oct 7 2010 8:52 pm

    yum! that dinner looks so delicious!

  2. Clare B / Oct 6 2010 5:28 pm

    I love spicey food, but not too, too spicey and my boyfriend is also the kind that loves to eat chillis “straight up”. We’ve reached a compromise though and keep some chillis in vinegar/oil (aka chinese takeaway store-ish) for when he wants spicey. He just adds extra spice after my bit of the meal is served.

  3. mandaray / Oct 6 2010 1:38 am

    LOL. If you’re just scrolling through the post and not really reading it, that last pic makes it look like Daisy is trying to eat all the food from the other pictures. 🙂 So cute!

    Also, dinner looks delicious! I hear you about having a tough time with spicy food, though. My tolerance has slowly gotten better over the years, but I’m definitely not anywhere near the jalepeno-popping level.

    • Zoe / Oct 6 2010 12:25 pm

      Ha, I didn’t notice Daisy was eating all the food! She is pretty greedy.

Leave a Reply

