Skip to content
September 30, 2010 / Zoe

The Harvest.

It’s one third of the way through spring. *sigh* Two months until Summer. I will really try my best to not complain about Summer on here too often, but it’s dang hot in Perth and we live in a 90 year-old oven pretending to be a house and we don’t have air-con. Last Summer I actually SLEPT in a cold bath for the hottest nights. I was a prune. But a cold prune none the less.

Anyway.

The only thing that grows in our barren excuse of a vegie patch is broad beans and thyme. It’s lucky I like broad beans and thyme, if all I could grow was peas and coriander I would have a problem. Yes, broad beans are delicious and peas are disgusting. Just another of life’s little idiosyncrasies.

The beans are starting to ripen, thanks to the busy little bees, and me remembering to water them more than once a fortnight.

It’s exciting.

It makes me desperately want to move to the country and grow all my own fruit and vegetables, and build our own sustainable house from straw and recycled tyres, and birth 8 children in my sustainable house, children who will never eat food from a package in all their childhood, and have chickens and cows and goats and guinea-pigs, and throw the TV out the window, but still download everything I want to watch.

But for now. Beans.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elgart / Sep 30 2010 10:59 am

    Amazing huge beans…

  2. Circe / Sep 30 2010 3:59 am

    you’re so lucky, we’re moving into fall here, which means that winter isn’t far behind. I miss spring, anyhow, enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

