Skip to content
September 26, 2010 / Zoe

Delightful scavenging.

I learnt something about myself because of Ramblings and Photos scavenger hunt this week. I cannot remember more than 4 things at once. I seriously visited Ashley’s site to check the 5th one at least 6 times this week, and strangely enough it was always a different theme I couldn’t remember. Odd.

Also, I wouldn’t say that my photography skills have improved, but I would say that I’m finding myself thinking more about the shot, and setting things up to photograph. Rather than just looking around and saying, ‘oh, that’s colourful. Done.’

Miniature.


These are a couple of my extensive giraffe collection. I keep them in a box because I’m so scared of breaking them, so I think they enjoyed the excursion outside to enjoy the sunshine a little.I really struggled with the editing for this one, I think just because of the strong shadows. I’m not entirely happy with it, but I’d had enough. I’m happy enough.

Water droplet.

This is an archived photo I wanted to share. It’s one of the first photos I took when I got my camera, and is also the only photo I’ve sold. My home town has a yearly art show that my Mum helps produce, so I usually put a couple of things in and I sold an A4 print of this last year. It’ll probably bother me forever that I cut the tip off the flower. It’s a Kangaroo Paw bud. For those of you who have no idea what a Kangaroo Paw is I shared a fully opened Kangaroo Paw in my You Capture a couple of weeks ago.

Bedhead.

This is straight off the camera. I took my camera to bed with me so I could share the head I usually wake up to. The head belongs to Maisie. The wake up call starts with a gentle pat on the shoulder. Then she’ll sit on my back/chest/side/whatever. Then a more insistent tap on the eyelids or lips. And if all else fails she starts knocking things off my bedside table. She does it so purposely too, one thing will drop off and she’ll look me intently until I respond. It’s like an ultimatum or something. ‘Give me breakfast lady, or the nail file gets it.’

Colourful.

I thought the most about this one. I had so many options, my wool pile, my box of embroidery floss, and my fabric stash are all sources of inspiration and colour. But I decided to dig into my ridiculous collection of beads. I used to do a lot of bead work, I made so many earrings and bracelets. Now, with a house full of cats, it doesn’t happen. I’ll start again if I can find a cheap bureau desk so I can close the lid and protect my work.

Eyes.

Anyone who’s read my blog for any amount of time will find it no surprise that I photographed cat eyes. They belong to our little foster kitten Zelda. She’s nearly big enough to go get her vet work done and then she’ll be adopted out. I’m going to be so sad!

24 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lillabilly / Sep 29 2010 8:08 pm

    Just have to say that bead picture is really lovely!

  2. kewkew / Sep 29 2010 6:21 am

    What gorgeous cat’s eyes. Don’t worry, I don’t think I can remember 4 at a time.

  3. thoughtsappear / Sep 28 2010 10:03 pm

    Zelda looks cute. Is she all black? I have a black cat, too.

    • Zoe / Sep 29 2010 9:33 am

      She has a few little bits of white on her chest and tummy. And these cute little spots on her ears, but mostly black.

  4. Malia / Sep 27 2010 11:09 pm

    I enjoy cat eyes, and your photos and I scavenger hunt all the time.

    I tinker around as you do, and it’s so amazing up pops up.

    Your sight is sweet, please keep it up, Thank you.

    • Zoe / Sep 28 2010 1:07 pm

      Thank you! Cat eyes are amazing huh.

  5. angela dunn / Sep 27 2010 1:00 pm

    Love all of your shots, the colourful one is wonderful

  6. Kamalika / Sep 27 2010 12:41 pm

    Hi Zoe, thanks for visting my blog and for the lovely comment….do visit again….

  7. Kimberly Mueller / Sep 27 2010 11:53 am

    These are wonderful! I especially like the shot for colorful. Very pretty.

  8. Style Attic / Sep 27 2010 9:00 am

    I have the same kitty 🙂 She is all soft black with the most beautiful two tone green eyes! Love to Zelda!!

  9. Kamalika / Sep 27 2010 6:10 am

    Lovely snaps….loved the colourful and water droplet one…..

  10. Nicolasa / Sep 27 2010 2:50 am

    I really like your colorful image!

  11. Susan @ Sunflower Status / Sep 27 2010 2:14 am

    Nice shots, I like the last cat shot, she looks like a smaller version of our black cat.

  12. Ashley @ Ramblings and Photos / Sep 26 2010 11:25 pm

    These are all great – I have to keep a list of them myself each week because otherwise I would forget them. You’d think the host of the challenge could keep up with 5 items, but even I have to go back and look. Anyways, I love all of your shots. Nice work.

  13. casey / Sep 26 2010 9:29 pm

    all great! Love the cat eyes pic and the colorful!

  14. Sheri / Sep 26 2010 9:18 pm

    The colorful macro is really interesting!

  15. Katie L. / Sep 26 2010 8:43 pm

    You did a great job! Keep at it and you’ll see improvement before you know it! And your bedhead explanation made me LOL! Thanks for a funny start to the day! 🙂

  16. Sarah / Sep 26 2010 7:40 pm

    I love the water droplet. Very cool! Great job on all your pictures!

  17. Robin / Sep 26 2010 7:26 pm

    I loved the colorful one, although cat eyes are forever cool! Great job!

  18. Raymonde / Sep 26 2010 4:52 pm

    Great hunt, I love the giraffes and the beads. Have a great Sunday. xxx

  19. justinegordon / Sep 26 2010 4:07 pm

    I just had to check I had them all too! I love your giraffe and your colourful, a great set of photos

  20. RMontalban / Sep 26 2010 3:21 pm

    love the colourful shot

  21. Reading Allowed / Sep 26 2010 1:48 pm

    I used a cat for bedhead too! I love your colorful shot, I love the perspective and they remind me of gummy candy (even looks like there is sugar on the outside).

    I had to LOL about what you said you learned about yourself this week…I can never remember more than three scavenger items at a time, and like you when I go back to look them up again it’s like I’ve never seen them before! I’ve taken to carrying around a piece of paper in my purse to remind me.

    • Zoe / Sep 26 2010 2:36 pm

      I really should just write them down, but every time I look I’m determined to remember them! Thanks for the nice comments.

Leave a Reply

