Skip to content
August 29, 2010 / Zoe

Scavenger Hunt Sunday

This scavenger hunt had me thinking all week. So I always had my camera at hand! It’s already becoming more of a habit to take photos wherever I go.

Bokeh.

I didn’t actually know what bokeh was a week ago, which I guess shows my amateurism… I don’t think this photo is quite right for the theme, but I did my best and I learnt something new, so that’s all that matters, right!?

Business.

I had a tough time trying to think of creative photos to take for Business. I took a lot of rubbish photos! But I like the light in this one, and I love the words on the card. And it sure was good food, and worth the wait! It was at a little cafe in Bunbury with heaps of vegan and gluten free options, I even had a gluten free cheesecake! Delish!

Eco-Friendly.

This was the theme I struggled with the most. Not because I’m not eco-friendly, but because I didn’t think anyone wants to see a photo of my organic vegan shampoo, or my recycling bin, or my compost heap, or my chemical free cleaning products! I did have an idea for some photos of my washing line, but they came out awful. So I had to get creative. My favourite cafe is called Source. They’re all about organic food, low food miles and are super vegan and GF friendly. We try to go there at least once a week. I once started a blog called ‘I play with my food.’ It didn’t last long, I got bored. So I went back in time and found a parsley flower from an eco-friendly cafe. Tenuous connection I know… I really look forward to seeing what other people did for this theme!

Repetition.

Repetition was fairly easy, my favourite pastime is repetitious in its nature. Hypnotic stitches. This is the macro of the cupcake cross stitch I finished this week.

Music.

Matt’s a musician. He might tell you he’s a student, or a casual sales person, but he’s a musician. It always amazes me that he can pick out the different instruments within a song, and that he can not just play music, but write it. I played the clarinet for 6 years; I could read music, but I sure couldn’t write it. This is my favourite photo this week, a macro of one of Matt’s amps.

No photos of cats this week! I’ll have to rectify that in the next challenge.

17 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kimberly Mueller / Aug 31 2010 1:38 pm

    wow! your shot for repetition is very cool!

  2. charmaine / Aug 31 2010 11:15 am

    Great shots! A few months ago (maybe even last month?) someone complemented my photo with “that’s great bokeh”! I had no idea, so I googled it!! I’m with you, I love your music one the most!

  3. angela dunn / Aug 30 2010 4:29 pm

    What a great job you have done with your photos. Well done.

  4. Tara / Aug 30 2010 7:54 am

    I really like your business shot !! Great job!

  5. Ashley @ Ramblings and Photos / Aug 30 2010 7:26 am

    I think these photos are fantastic – my favorite is your music shot. I look forward to seeing your interpretation for next week’s items.

  6. Danielle Walker / Aug 30 2010 4:19 am

    ooooh I love the cross stitch!

  7. dea / Aug 30 2010 3:01 am

    great shots, my fave is Music

  8. casey / Aug 30 2010 2:37 am

    ooo, your repetition shot is awesome!

  9. Ana / Aug 30 2010 1:35 am

    I agree Tripps–the cross stitch was hypnotic! Beautiful job.

  10. Reading Allowed / Aug 29 2010 11:35 pm

    I *still* don’t know how to say bokeh! We are all learning through these challenges 🙂

    I love your repetition shot!

  11. Yellow House / Aug 29 2010 11:23 pm

    I love the knobs! Great photos!

  12. cynthia / Aug 29 2010 10:45 pm

    LOL. My thoughts were the same for the eco-friendly. I had to go to my archives for that theme. Good attempt with the bokeh. I’m no expert but I think you need to have a shallower depth of field so the background looks even more blurred. You might be constrained by your camera lens. BTW – I envy you for having a musician in the house. My kids like to sing but it’s not the same.

  13. Sheri / Aug 29 2010 9:26 pm

    Nice job! I really like your repetition.
    Sheri

  14. jan / Aug 29 2010 8:59 pm

    Love all the photos specially your entry for the eco-friendly..

    mine is here:

    http://moms-journey.com/2010/08/29/scavenger-hunt-sunday.aspx

    happy sunday!

  15. Christine / Aug 29 2010 6:44 pm

    Love the last photo of the knobs, great DoF!

  16. Sarah / Aug 29 2010 5:20 pm

    Great photos. Love the sign.

  17. tripps / Aug 29 2010 2:12 pm

    that cross stitch is hypnotic! great capture. i was just thinking i wanted to see what the cupcake and i scrolled and found it in your post below. that looks like fun.

Leave a Reply

