Skip to content
July 2, 2012 / Zoe

A Birthday Kitten.

Today is Zelda’s made up 2nd birthday! I can’t believe she’s been with us for such a short time, it seems like forever. We don’t know her birth date, but we decided on today as an approximate.

Zelly Belly is a teeny tiny kitten. She’s short and round, a little like her Mama. She loves belly rubs, corn, drinking out of the bath, and the grey mouse she’s had since she arrived.

She treats Maisie and Daisy as cats, and us as equals. She was taken from her Cat Muma far too soon, and I think she believes herself to be human.

Her birthday present was a freshly sun dried/warmed towel, folded neatly in a sunbeam and left for a moment while I put away the sheets. She appears as if from nowhere to claim such sleeping spots. It’s been 7 hours since I took these photos, and she’s still curled up there, like a little black button.

You might be surprised to know, that out of all the millions of black cats in the world, Zelda is actually the most beautiful. I’m not biased at all, it’s a fact.

When she arrived she was the tiniest kitten I’d ever seen. She was flown to Perth as a foster kitten, and she was supposed to be 8 weeks to be allowed to fly, but I don’t think she was any more than 6 weeks, maybe 5. Her eyes were blue and her tail was still stubby. She was ‘just’ our foster kitten for 5 months, until Matt surprised me with her on my birthday! But to be honest, it was only a few weeks before I knew in my heart I couldn’t bear to have her leave me.

Happy birthday Zelda Pumpernickel. We’re so lucky you’re ours.

xox

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Happy (belated) birthday, sweet Zelda! I think my handsome Henry has a little crush on you – he was pawing at my laptop when I was looking at your photos! meow! I gotta say, you two would make a fabulous kitty couple.
    xox!

  2. Jodie / Jul 6 2012 2:08 pm

    Aww happy belated birthday to the beautiful zelda! Looks like she really grooms well and looks after her pretty fur :) hehe. give her a snuggle for me. xx

  3. samyforever / Jul 4 2012 2:22 am

    I was gonnnnna click the like button, but there is non. So I have one word to say about the pics. * WANT* :P

  4. tea / Jul 3 2012 1:36 am

    She’s truly beautiful!

    But you know she’s not yours, right? You’re hers! =)

    • Zoe / Jul 3 2012 12:49 pm

      Haha, that is very true! :)

  5. Vixie / Jul 3 2012 1:19 am

    Happy Birthday Miss Zelda – you are indeed the prettiest black cat I’ve ever seen :)

    • Zoe / Jul 3 2012 12:49 pm

      Aww, thank you! I suspected it was true!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers